Homestyle Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Hi I'm Jillian the submitter of the recipe and this is my Mom, Nancy's recipe. I've been making Stuffed Peppers for years and my Mom probably made thousands of these! She taught me how to make them and that's a memory I'll always treasure as she got the recipe from her Mom. Now that she's gone I think of her everytime I make them. She served them with mashed potatoes or sometimes potato salad. I hope you and your family enjoy them as much as I do - it certainly has become one of my husband's favorites! Depending on the size of the green bell peppers, you may not have to boil them for 4-5 minutes, but maybe 3. I use large eggs and 90/10 lean ground beef when preparing these and sometimes add a little more vinegar to the tomato sauce or fresh minced garlic vs. garlic powder (yes, I tweak my own recipes and just for clarification - the beef is not cooked before hand). You can even sub half ground turkey or use all ground turkey for a healthier, lighter version. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
YUM! So flavorful! I love having a recipe that you don't have to cook the ground beef first. Your review was so helpful, Jillian. I used frozen bell peppers from last summer's garden. As the peppers were soft when they defrosted, I skipped cooking them in boiling water. I tried not to stray from the recipe, but when I went to do the dishes, I found the egg still sitting there lightly beaten. It didn't seem to be a problem. The cooking time was right on and our dinner was FABULOUS! Thank you for sharing your family recipe, Jillian I'm sure you make your family proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly and got rave reviews. I am making again this weekend. Family made me promise. They loved it a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this for my boyfriend last night, he loved it! Said it was even better than his mother's...gasp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Pleasing an Italian when it comes to food is not always easy, but with this recipe my boyfriend raved about it saying they were some of the best stuffed peppers he ever had. Excellent! Sent the recipe to my sister and her family loved them as well! Thank you for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antonette0502

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This dish reminded me of the bell peppers my mother used to make for us, only less time. For some reason my mom made this dish sound like it was so time consuming. Well, not with this recipe! My husband loved it and so did i. no changes were made to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manda929

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
We had lots of peppers from the garden. I went through several recipes looking for one that I already had the ingredients for. These were the best peppers ever. The only thing I did different, I didn't have enought Parmesan cheese to put on the top, so when the buzzer went off, I topped each one with Mozzarella cheese, and closed the oven door just long enough to let the cheese melt. OMG, These are going on my monthly menu for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmfoster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe! The only thing I changed was we used ground turkey since we don't care for beef. The best stuffed peppers I've eaten, hands down. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by periwinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ceree
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is definitley one of the better stuffed pepper recipes I've used. I went by the recipe this time but next time may add some of the yummy tomato sauce blend inside my mix. I will use this recipe again for sure. BTW 1 1/2 lbs of beef stuffed 5 peppers full for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Excellent Recipe! Easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States