Homestyle Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My fiance is trying to cut carbs to lose weight so I used half the rice, but it turned out perfectly. He was immediately posting about it on FB and asked me to make them again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen615

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Hi I'm Jillian the submitter of the recipe and this is my Mom, Nancy's recipe. I've been making Stuffed Peppers for years and my Mom probably made thousands of these! She taught me how to make them and that's a memory I'll always treasure as she got the recipe from her Mom. Now that she's gone I think of her everytime I make them. She served them with mashed potatoes or sometimes potato salad. I hope you and your family enjoy them as much as I do - it certainly has become one of my husband's favorites! Depending on the size of the green bell peppers, you may not have to boil them for 4-5 minutes, but maybe 3. I use large eggs and 90/10 lean ground beef when preparing these and sometimes add a little more vinegar to the tomato sauce or fresh minced garlic vs. garlic powder (yes, I tweak my own recipes and just for clarification - the beef is not cooked before hand). You can even sub half ground turkey or use all ground turkey for a healthier, lighter version. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Good recipe but I like using yellow or orange peppers because of the sweeter taste. Green peppers have a bit of a bitter taste to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this for my boyfriend last night, he loved it! Said it was even better than his mother's...gasp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
this was a good recipe, loved the filling. only change I would make next time is leave the vinegar out of the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
After a few tweak's,this was awesome!I used very lean ground turkey, and whole grain rice for a bit more of a healthier version, and added a little extra cheese, and a bit more salt, and added a pinch of salt to the sauce. I also added 2 T. minced garlic, which added soooo much more flavor! My husband and I agreed that it could even use more sauce, maybe a 7-8 oz can more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ceree
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is definitley one of the better stuffed pepper recipes I've used. I went by the recipe this time but next time may add some of the yummy tomato sauce blend inside my mix. I will use this recipe again for sure. BTW 1 1/2 lbs of beef stuffed 5 peppers full for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. However, I substituted cholula hot sauce for the white vinegar and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamphoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
great i use stuffing in stead of bread crumbs. no vingar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billiejo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly and got rave reviews. I am making again this weekend. Family made me promise. They loved it a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States