Homestyle Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My daughter made this recipe but used Jasmine rice...excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Monmouth Junction, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
We loved it, the only thing I did differentwas used sausage and hamburger mixed and tomato soup with equal amount of water, instead of tomato sauce and vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe tasted exactly like my Mom used to make. Only thing I did different was not pre-cook the peppers only because I like them a little crunchier. I also added more cheese because I love cheese! Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Pleasing an Italian when it comes to food is not always easy, but with this recipe my boyfriend raved about it saying they were some of the best stuffed peppers he ever had. Excellent! Sent the recipe to my sister and her family loved them as well! Thank you for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antonette0502

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Recipe does not indicate whether the ground beef should be browned. Assumed that since it required raw egg and breadcrumbs (like a meatloaf or meatballs) that this was reasonable.I made the meat mixture as directed. Just bit into RAW ground beef, even after an hour in the oven and letting it sit for 10 minutes out of the oven. If you ARE supposed to BROWN the beef before hand-why the bread crumbs and egg? Also, there was SO much "stuffing" left over! I *always* follow a recipe exactly if I am in doubt... The sauces' pungency is also an issue. I am going to chop the peppers sans sauce up and flash fry the mixture (along with ALL the leftover stuffing). I plan to season the sauce in a large pot, adding some BROWN sugar to cut the acidity and ODD taste the bitter (bell peppers release their bitterness when cooked, especially when cooked with tomato) sauce has, heat and add the flash fried chopped up peppers/stuffing. I plan to let it simmer, then transfer to a oiled 13x9 inch pan and top with cheddar cheese and bake it into a "stuffed pepper casserole". I will have to eat it another day, though. I really do not like to give this sort of review, especially as this recipe has so much sentimental value to the submitter. I kept imagining someone serving raw meat to a small child or anyone with a compromised immune system, so I felt a general warning was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a very good recipe. Although, I made a few slight changes by using ground turkey and brown rice. Also, I did not precook anything. I used cooking instructions from another recipe and baked this on 350 for 2-3 hours and the peppers came out perfect! For added flavor, my mom used to cook her peppers with a couple strips of bacon on top; however, I did not have any bacon on hand for my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Brundick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Really, really good! It didn't say to pre-cook beef, but I did. They took 20 minutes to bake and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was great! I made it using red peppers instead, and used brown rice instead of white. Everyone in the family ate it... Including kids! They liked to top theirs with a little shredded mozzarella after it came out of the oven, but it was fantastic just the way the recipe calls for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Used ground turkey instead of beef, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Entirely too bland. Won't be making peppers this way again. Prefer my veggie version with spinach, mozzarella, and ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
We had lots of peppers from the garden. I went through several recipes looking for one that I already had the ingredients for. These were the best peppers ever. The only thing I did different, I didn't have enought Parmesan cheese to put on the top, so when the buzzer went off, I topped each one with Mozzarella cheese, and closed the oven door just long enough to let the cheese melt. OMG, These are going on my monthly menu for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmfoster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States