Homestyle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good. I had Hot Italian Sausage so that was yummy for us. I had read the other reviews about substituting Cornbread Stuffing for the oats, so I tried that. It was good. I had used oats before a few times and sometimes it was too mushy. I like the stuffing. I made the rest of the package of stuffing as a side which everyone always loves. It is true; there is not enough ketchup mixture to cover whole thing, so I experimented and used Maggi Hot and Sweet sauce (very thin) on top of half of the loaf. I liked it a lot. Nice and spicy. Enjoy. Oh, it was very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Followed recipe as is and this was a great meatloaf. My sixteen-year-old daughter had 2nds and she is very picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
My family and my boyfriend loved this recipe, in fact we always double it when we make it as there never seem to be many leftovers...I Loved the basic recipe but these are the changes I made. I followed someones advice and substituted chicken stuffing mix for the oatmeal, I had some mild Italian sausages thawed which I took out of the casings and substituted for the sausage, I add garlic, oregano,Epicure three onion and the garlic dip mix for a bit more flavor ( I love spices)... and I agree with the other reviewers who suggest to increase the sauce...its very nice to have extra. I made my sauce a bit more smokey by adding to it a teaspoon of smokey paprika ( the kind used in Pallella...really yummy) added a bit of vinegar and Worcestershire sauce, and garlic to the ketchup and mustard as well... and last but not least I top the whole thing with slices of bacon! mmmm enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Have tried lots of meatloaf recipes and this is now my go-to meatloaf. Lots of flavor and moist, great texture. I've only used regular oats not quick, and it's great. Get raves even from meatloaf haters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I used 1 lb ground pork & 1 lb ground venison. My family scarfed this meatloaf down faster than any other meatloaf I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munith, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
YUM! I used a squirt of yellow mustard, a 12 oz. package of sausage and a half box of stuffing leftover from another recipe instead of the quick oats. I also got busy, cooked it for a little longer than I was supposed to so I put the reserved ketchup mixture on without putting it back in the oven. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I thought it was good, as far as meatloaf goes - and one of my two children ate it - but the other child wouldn't touch it (no surprise) and my husband didn't like it at all. All he could taste was the oatmeal, I couldn't taste it all - so it's not going to stay in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Hermann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Husband loved yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I added some chopped celery and chopped red peppers in the with onions. The recipe is great and as long as you follow it, you'll get a moist, tasty dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States