Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was excellent. I never modify the ingredients in a recipe the first time so that I can experience the dish the way the poster intended. The next time I make this, I won't change a thing. A lot of people said this was too salty but I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I did micro-steam the cabbage separately just to keep it fresh. I also halved plus a bit the salt, a good idea since not adding in the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonfrost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
**EDIT** I have to take back everything I said about this dish!! We had this as leftovers a day later and it was completely different after 24 hours. You could taste the ginger (athough I still think it needs a touch more than what's called for,) and the 1-1/2 tbsp of salt was perfect after I shredded the meat. I served it as mini-sliders on Hawaiian rolls, with a touch of hickory smoke BBQ sauce, the cabbage, and a slice of swiss cheese... Delicious Hawaiian goodness! Amazing after cooling down and sitting in the fridge for a few hours. Can you tell I loved this?? :) **EDIT** Having lived in Memphis, Tn for the last 30 years and eating pork shoulder at seemingly almost every gathering, work luncheon, etc., I was excited about making this and was hoping for more of a Hawaiian flare, but that was not the case. You can't really taste the ginger at all but you can definitely taste the salt which I cut down to 1 and 1/2 tablespoons . The salt should probably be cut down to 1 tablespoon and the amount of ginger should be increased. The roast did cook beautifully in the crock pot (and once I shredded it the salty taste subsided quite a bit.) The best part of the dish for me was the cabbage which I shredded and just threw on top of the roast for the last hour of cooking. The cabbage soaked up the flavor of the roast quite well. I spooned it out before shredding the roast and saved it in a separate container to stay crisp. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was delicious but a bit salty.. I will make it again and use half the salt and double the ginger. Then I believe it will be 5 stars. It was still very good and so easy to make. It did wake me up at 3:00 in the morning because of the delicious smell coming out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Easy and everyone just loved it. I did cut back on the salt after reading reviews, and I'm glad I did. It was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious! Didn't bother with salt since I used regular soy sauce, and it turned out fantastic. I've made this twice and the first time I put the cabbage in the crock as instructed, but I felt like it didn't get soft enough. So the second time, I just boiled in a skillet on the stove with some butter, salt, and pepper, and served along side the pork. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
A KEEPER! Maybe a bit less salt but yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very tasty. I made mine with spinach instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States