Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Loved this pork and also used other advice as well. I'm fairly new to using a slow cooker and wasn't sure if I was supposed to use water...but I put water in the slow cooker anyways...came out good both ways. preferably with no water since the fat of the pork just juices it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My family loves it. I will put liquid smoke next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Amazing recipe! Super easy and my husband said it was the best Kalua pork ever. I made a few small changes I started with 1/2 the amount of salt and added more salt at the end to taste, I also added an extra teaspoon on liquid smoke for more of the smoky flavor and instead of using 1/2 of cabbage I used a whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was excellent. I never modify the ingredients in a recipe the first time so that I can experience the dish the way the poster intended. The next time I make this, I won't change a thing. A lot of people said this was too salty but I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I did micro-steam the cabbage separately just to keep it fresh. I also halved plus a bit the salt, a good idea since not adding in the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonfrost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
**EDIT** I have to take back everything I said about this dish!! We had this as leftovers a day later and it was completely different after 24 hours. You could taste the ginger (athough I still think it needs a touch more than what's called for,) and the 1-1/2 tbsp of salt was perfect after I shredded the meat. I served it as mini-sliders on Hawaiian rolls, with a touch of hickory smoke BBQ sauce, the cabbage, and a slice of swiss cheese... Delicious Hawaiian goodness! Amazing after cooling down and sitting in the fridge for a few hours. Can you tell I loved this?? :) **EDIT** Having lived in Memphis, Tn for the last 30 years and eating pork shoulder at seemingly almost every gathering, work luncheon, etc., I was excited about making this and was hoping for more of a Hawaiian flare, but that was not the case. You can't really taste the ginger at all but you can definitely taste the salt which I cut down to 1 and 1/2 tablespoons . The salt should probably be cut down to 1 tablespoon and the amount of ginger should be increased. The roast did cook beautifully in the crock pot (and once I shredded it the salty taste subsided quite a bit.) The best part of the dish for me was the cabbage which I shredded and just threw on top of the roast for the last hour of cooking. The cabbage soaked up the flavor of the roast quite well. I spooned it out before shredding the roast and saved it in a separate container to stay crisp. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was delicious but a bit salty.. I will make it again and use half the salt and double the ginger. Then I believe it will be 5 stars. It was still very good and so easy to make. It did wake me up at 3:00 in the morning because of the delicious smell coming out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Easy and everyone just loved it. I did cut back on the salt after reading reviews, and I'm glad I did. It was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States