Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious! Didn't bother with salt since I used regular soy sauce, and it turned out fantastic. I've made this twice and the first time I put the cabbage in the crock as instructed, but I felt like it didn't get soft enough. So the second time, I just boiled in a skillet on the stove with some butter, salt, and pepper, and served along side the pork. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
A KEEPER! Maybe a bit less salt but yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very tasty. I made mine with spinach instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Really very tasty! I made the recipe almost exactly (it wasn't bad with regular Kosher salt and probably 2 T of liquid smoke compared to what is called for) and it really tasted exactly like what I'd get in my local Hawaiian restaurant. Highly recommended! One tip, use Hickory smoke instead of Applewood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kraig
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Excellent Kalua Pork. Thanks for the recipe Mei. I chose this recipe over others because it called for ginger, worcestershire, and some soy sauce vs. just salt and liquid smoke, which I feel flavored the roast much better. I also used medium grain Hawaiian Alaea Sea Salt. If you do use a granule salt, like I did, whether it be Kosher or Hawaiian, assure that you first crush it with a mortar and pestle, and cut the salt back if you don't like your meat very salty. I also served the pork over a bed of the steamed cabbage leaves just as it was served to us at "Feast at Lele" Luau in Maui last month. I would recommend this for two reasons. First, this is a lot of pork and since there were lots of left over’s, I wanted my cabbage steamed fresh when eating it again, not soggy as it would be when you reheat it with the cabbage mixed in. Second, I also added Mexican spices,(Chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper. etc..), and made some delicious shredded pork tacos for lunch one day. I will be making this recipe again many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe except: I first seared the pork, cut it in third and used fresh ginger. I guess I should have cut it up then seared it but that's not how it happened. It turned out wonderful and my husband ate too much. I will definitely make this again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marilisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We love this recipe, follow exactly as stated and it was wonderful, we will have it again and give it to family and friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
The pork came out super tender and juicy. I didn't use liquid smoke (substituted with a smoky spice mix I got from Trader Joes) and the pork came out tasting bland, so next time I'll try liquid smoke and maybe add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Omit the salt!! Double the rest of the ingredients (except the pepper) and it is smokey and savory. A nice alternative to BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
When we got back from Maui I wanted to make some authentic Hawaiian food and found this recipe. All I can say is "Yummy!" It was like bringing a little bit of paradise home with us! My son's wedding is Hawaiian themed and he and his fiance' asked me to cook up a huge bunch of Kalua pork for the reception. I've done two crock pots worth so far and need to do one more. this is great served on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States