Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
Excellent recipe!! If you know what its suppose to taste like then you know this is it... One thing we only use ALOHA SOY SAUCE best soy sauce. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosalba zuniga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
It is extremely bland and boring, with the cabbage giving it that disagreeable stewed cabbage odor. Everyone I served it to ended up dousing it with soy sauce at the table to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
was very good loved the left overs they were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I've tried a number of recipes for kalua chicken and this was far and away the best - as judged by me, my husband, and both teenagers. I made it the night before (and the aroma DID awaken two members of the family). I turned it off in the morning and skimmed the fat in the afternoon, before turning it back on and adding the cabbage. The only change I made was to slightly reduce the salt and slightly increase the amount of ginger relative to other ingredients, per other reviewers. We had the leftovers on sandwiches - usually at this point everyone adds BBQ sauce to my leftover pork but most of us ate it just as it was. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Didn't like this. I followed the directions and found it dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Holy salt buckets! We love the flavor of this but the salt was over the top. After reading the reviews I did half the salt using 1 Tablespoon of Kosher salt and it was super strong, even for this salt loving family. I think I will just try a teaspoon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Loved this pork and also used other advice as well. I'm fairly new to using a slow cooker and wasn't sure if I was supposed to use water...but I put water in the slow cooker anyways...came out good both ways. preferably with no water since the fat of the pork just juices it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My family loves it. I will put liquid smoke next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Amazing recipe! Super easy and my husband said it was the best Kalua pork ever. I made a few small changes I started with 1/2 the amount of salt and added more salt at the end to taste, I also added an extra teaspoon on liquid smoke for more of the smoky flavor and instead of using 1/2 of cabbage I used a whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was excellent. I never modify the ingredients in a recipe the first time so that I can experience the dish the way the poster intended. The next time I make this, I won't change a thing. A lot of people said this was too salty but I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States