Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Having been to a couple of luaus now, this effectively recreates the taste as well as you can without burying a pig in your back yard. We used a low sodium soy sauce, which was fine as their is more than enough salt in the recipe. We cooked a 4 lb butt in the slow cooker for about 8 hours, steaming with the cabbage for the last 30 minutes. The result was great. I served it with Guam styled fried rice, so it was a real gut buster feast. While buns or rolls are somewhat traditional, as a low glutein household we don't feel they are required. in fact, the first time I served this with hot dog buns the bread was ignored entirely, as everyone was perfectly full with pork, cabbage, rice and vegetables. while not anyone's idea of a health nut dinner, this is certainly a good option if you want a breadless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Tried this exactly as stated in the recipe. It was wonderful. Reminded us so much of what we used to eat when we lived in Hawaii. It was a little salty, but that's how I remember it. We served it with white sticky rice. The family wants it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Loved this! My boyfriend who grew up on Oahu could not stop raving about how amazing this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved the flavor of the pork. Used pork tenderloin--delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made this for a neigbhorhood potluck and it was enjoyed by everyone. It is so very very easy and tastes better than the kaluha pork at the luaus in Hawaii. Moist and flavorful, no need to add liquid because as the meat cooks it generates its own liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
When we got back from Maui I wanted to make some authentic Hawaiian food and found this recipe. All I can say is "Yummy!" It was like bringing a little bit of paradise home with us! My son's wedding is Hawaiian themed and he and his fiance' asked me to cook up a huge bunch of Kalua pork for the reception. I've done two crock pots worth so far and need to do one more. this is great served on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Omit the salt!! Double the rest of the ingredients (except the pepper) and it is smokey and savory. A nice alternative to BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
We love this recipe, follow exactly as stated and it was wonderful, we will have it again and give it to family and friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kraig
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Excellent Kalua Pork. Thanks for the recipe Mei. I chose this recipe over others because it called for ginger, worcestershire, and some soy sauce vs. just salt and liquid smoke, which I feel flavored the roast much better. I also used medium grain Hawaiian Alaea Sea Salt. If you do use a granule salt, like I did, whether it be Kosher or Hawaiian, assure that you first crush it with a mortar and pestle, and cut the salt back if you don't like your meat very salty. I also served the pork over a bed of the steamed cabbage leaves just as it was served to us at "Feast at Lele" Luau in Maui last month. I would recommend this for two reasons. First, this is a lot of pork and since there were lots of left over’s, I wanted my cabbage steamed fresh when eating it again, not soggy as it would be when you reheat it with the cabbage mixed in. Second, I also added Mexican spices,(Chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper. etc..), and made some delicious shredded pork tacos for lunch one day. I will be making this recipe again many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Really very tasty! I made the recipe almost exactly (it wasn't bad with regular Kosher salt and probably 2 T of liquid smoke compared to what is called for) and it really tasted exactly like what I'd get in my local Hawaiian restaurant. Highly recommended! One tip, use Hickory smoke instead of Applewood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States