Homestyle Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Skip the thyme and bay leaf next time. Add 1 can of beer and beef bullion to taste. Serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Made enough for 8 people and it was ALL GONE! Used olive oil vs. vegetable oil and the beef was mega tender. Overall a basic good tasting Beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Makes a great basic stew. I threw in a handful of frozen peas a minute before serving and even my picky four year old gobbled it all up. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
FANTASTIC basic recipe!! I had never made beef stew before, and now I make it once a week! However, the last time I made it I threw in an extra half pound of meat because I felt that there wasnt enough and it was AMAZING. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggles314

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
An excellent basic recipe! I used this as a guideline and added an onion, some peas, rosemary, and omitted the thyme. Also added cornstarch to thicken the broth and served it with buttermilk cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good base recipe. I made a couple changes to suit our families taste. I used 2lb meat, added 1/2 onion, diced, when I browned the meat. Also added 3 cloves of garlic, chopped, when I added the broth and 1 1/2 cup chopped celery when I added the carrots. I didn't add potatoes to the pan but served the stew over mashed potatoes instead. Big hit with the Hubby & kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I used all beef broth (instead of water) and added a package of french onion soup mix and it turned out great. My in-laws loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Byrd Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Yum! I used beef bouillon, beef broth, yuengling beer, fingerling potatoes, and a dash of Rosemary and this was delicious! The flavors were almost too powerful so I will use much less of or eliminate the rosemary next time. Also added celery. I served this with Beer bread also from this site and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyberry4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederica, Delaware, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Wonderful! We loved it. I served it with homemade bread on a snowy night. Just great!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANAGOLLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Added garlic, sherry, onions. Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States