Homestyle Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agsgmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is a pretty easy stew to make, especially since it was the first time I made one! Hubby and I both LOVED it! I did add Onion soup mix and some Worchestershire sauce, used 2 cans broth and added a bit more water to cover veggies. Cook time was a bit longer since you have to brown the meat first. This is something I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was a wonderful basic recipe for easy beef stew. Looking back, however, I would have doubled the recipe because we only got 4 servings out of it. I might also have added some green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great basic stew recipe! I made mine in the crockpot, for about 6.5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This a good basic beef stew recipe that is easily adapted to suit your family's taste. Loved the thyme seasoning in the stew. We've changed it up a bit to suit our family a little better (garlic, onion, etc.) but this is something that we'll be having often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
needed more liquid, it was kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Robke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I make this stew all the time now! It's so easy and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
My husband and I loved the recipe. We altered it because my broth boiled out. We added beer to replace the broth. No complaints from the picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Tasty and simple! I made a couple changes: I skipped the thyme, and would recommend skipping the bay leaf too. Also, I don't eat beef (vegetarian except for chicken & turkey) so instead I chopped up a can of Worthington Choplets, which is a meatless substitute. I didn't fry them in flour but rather just added them by themselves (they already have their own salty flavor). It turned out great, and I served it to my boyfriend who loved it also. He suggested that next time it would be good as a pot pie filling! So I might try that next... Definitely going into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was very, good. Followed the recipe to a T and it was great. Next time I'll try adding celery and some other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States