Homestyle Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
All my years of cooking Iv never made Beef Stew,So I wanted to find an easy basic recipe! THIS WAS IT! AWESOME!! my Daughter says Mom Thats some good stuff lol I used this as a base recipe I added more veggies then the recipe called for upped the thyme to 1 tsp added garlic and onion powder and diced up a bell pepper i needed to use up! This made the perfect Sunday meal!Served this with homemade rolls! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is very much a base recipe. I like a hearty stew and this was kind of minimal as it was. I added more veggies (celery ,onion & turnip) a clove of crushed garlic and a bit of rosemary. The broth/water mixture at the start needs to be doubled. Also add a couple of tablespoons of cornstarch to a bit of cold water in a small bowl to make a paste and then add it to the broth/water mixture prior to boiling in order to thicken it. It needs playing around with but it can be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I added a lot of extras, this is a great basic recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverside, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is a great starer recipe, it gives room to play with ingredients and flavors in order to really make it your own. I use this recipe whenever I make my winter stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Voymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
So good! I've made beef stews for 20+ years but this is the best! I added can of cream of mushroom soup, small can of mushrooms, half a packet of onion mushroom dry Lipton soup mix. i added about 1 1/2 cups of water (total). I did not use thyme or bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Yes, I tried this recipe, and it was the bomb (meaning very good). I followed the recipe to the tee and didn't change a thing. Thank you for a beef stew recipe that will go into my recipe box on my counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I prepared this as written except I used all broth (no water). Added a cup of frozen green beans for the last 10 minutes. So very yummy and such an easy recipe to follow! This was my first attempt at beef stew w/o a slow cooker and it is now my "go to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Delicous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Taylor
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Made mine with a couple of modifications. I used 3 cans of Campbells Golden Mushroom Soup instead of broth and added peas. Also used marjoram instead of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Love this recipe, very good. Lots of great flavor, very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States