Homestyle Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Made enough for 8 people and it was ALL GONE! Used olive oil vs. vegetable oil and the beef was mega tender. Overall a basic good tasting Beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good base recipe. I made a couple changes to suit our families taste. I used 2lb meat, added 1/2 onion, diced, when I browned the meat. Also added 3 cloves of garlic, chopped, when I added the broth and 1 1/2 cup chopped celery when I added the carrots. I didn't add potatoes to the pan but served the stew over mashed potatoes instead. Big hit with the Hubby & kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Skip the thyme and bay leaf next time. Add 1 can of beer and beef bullion to taste. Serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Makes a great basic stew. I threw in a handful of frozen peas a minute before serving and even my picky four year old gobbled it all up. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I used all beef broth (instead of water) and added a package of french onion soup mix and it turned out great. My in-laws loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Byrd Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! Changed it up a bit too cuz I wanted to use up some ingredients in the refrig. I browned stew beef in olive oil as someone else suggested. I used Golden Mushroom Soup and 1 pkg. of onion soup mix. I added a bottle of Blue Moon Beer--nobody likes it in my house (!), 1 c. of H2O, 1 heaping Tbsp. of blackstrap molasses, 3 good shakes of Worchesthire, 1 turnip, 3/4 can of diced tomatoes, LOTs of minced garliic, basil, oregano, LOTs of ground pepper and also the celery, carrots and potatoes. Then, still in the clean out the refrig. mode, I added 1/2 can of sauerkraut. It's been cooking in the slowcooker for a few hrs. & already my whole family has been circling around the kitchen asking when we are eating... The broth is thick, the meat smells heavenly...and the carrots and potato pieces I've sampled are really, really good! Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
FANTASTIC basic recipe!! I had never made beef stew before, and now I make it once a week! However, the last time I made it I threw in an extra half pound of meat because I felt that there wasnt enough and it was AMAZING. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggles314

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
An excellent basic recipe! I used this as a guideline and added an onion, some peas, rosemary, and omitted the thyme. Also added cornstarch to thicken the broth and served it with buttermilk cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Taylor
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Made mine with a couple of modifications. I used 3 cans of Campbells Golden Mushroom Soup instead of broth and added peas. Also used marjoram instead of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Yum! I used beef bouillon, beef broth, yuengling beer, fingerling potatoes, and a dash of Rosemary and this was delicious! The flavors were almost too powerful so I will use much less of or eliminate the rosemary next time. Also added celery. I served this with Beer bread also from this site and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyberry4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederica, Delaware, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States