Homestyle Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. The meat is soo tender. I do make a few variations however; I add tomato sauce, onions, celery I also double on the carrots. i also use fresh thyme. It is a big hit for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin'sgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Added an aditional 2 more bay leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
One of my kiddos requested beef stew for Christmas dinner, and this was the recipe we chose. Because we were eating this over mashed potatoes (Baked Mashed Potatoes by Nancy F, very good!), I left out the potatoes in the stew and added some celery - probably 5 big stalks for my doubled batch of stew. This was very tasty, but it was much thinner than I'd anticipated; I always use much more flour to dredge meat because I hate getting almost done and having to wash goo off my hands to haul out all the ingredients again ...but even though I added probably twice the flour to the pot at the very beginning, it was still more soup than stew; just FYI based on your preference. Great flavor (my additions: about 1/2 Tbsp Worcestershire, 1/2 chopped onion lightly browned in the pan after the beef, plus salt, onion powder, paprika & garlic powder to the flour) and pretty simple to assemble. I bet this would be a good slow cooker recipe once you have the meat & onions browned; I'll try that next. We'll have this a few more times this winter, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
1/2 cup of wine really adds a nice touch. Family raves every time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made this in the slow cooker today and added sweet potatoes, celery & onion soup mix. Delish :0) Even my husband who doesn't particularly care for stew had seconds and my picky 7yr old actually ate it up. Served it with warm home made bread, ultimate combination, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I added more beef broth, peas, beef and carrots. Other than than it tasted wonderful. Great basic recipe for beef stew! I high recommend this recipe for smaller familys or couples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KenyaY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My Picky kids loved it. I would use 1.5lb of beef instead of the 1lb to serve 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueBKom
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made a few changes. I sauted some onions and garlic before browning the beef. I also used all beef broth instead of a cup of water. I added a 1/2 cup of red wine and used sweet potatoes and peas. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmaloy56

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very good!! Added more broth than in recipe, good flavour and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchesmalone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agsgmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States