Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
mmm,mmm,good!I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
PERFECTION! I read thru the reviews so I made a few changes as suggested. For years I have looked for "The Perfect Cornbread Recipe", I have finally found it. I used 2 1/2 cups corn meal (heirloom, organic blue corn meal), soaked it in the milk (organic) as suggested and then used 1 cup flour (organic wheat flour), I used the 2/3c sugar and it turned out PERFECT! If you like a sweeter cornbread I would suggest using 1cup sugar but I wouldn't go less than 1/2c sugar, it isn't sweet, at this mixture it is perfect I love that it makes in a large pan as there are 2 of us and I like to have plenty left over to freeze for an easy dinner night. The remaining pieces are cooling now so I may freeze them! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Haven't tried this particular recipe, but since its almost word for word of my mother's recipe, think its just fine. The only difference is, my mother used hot milk, or hot water to soak the cornmeal in. And my mother used cornbread as a quick dinner bread all the time, she learned from her mother who learned from hers, so its as authentic as you can get! This idea that cornbread is only authentic if its got corn or hot peppers or whatever the fashion is, is a relatively new ides, corn bread is a quick bread, when you haven't got time to make a more time or space consuming bread, cook it in the skillet, and its even a one dish to mix, and cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is the best cornbread recipe, ever! have been making it for years but the original recipe, which I have, has it made in a 12" cast iron skillet and as far as I am concerned, that is the only way to make cornbread! su2u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Cornbread recipe is spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
LOVE this recipe!! SO good and you can tweak it too! Want to try it with a little extra zing? Add grated cheddar and some sliced jalapenos. Oh yes I did!! Save this recipe. Seriously. You'll be so glad you did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
My husband didn't like cornbread until he found this recipe. Moist moist moist. I usually put it in a pan one size down from recommended and bake it a tad longer. I find that makes it even MORE moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Tried this recipe and was not impressed....seems a bit flat and not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakergirl
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I love this! It is better than the boxed kind. This is so easy! I didn't have the specified pan, so I used two square pans and put them in for 25 - 30 minutes. They came out perfectly. I am so making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Easy, good home made corn bread recipe. I have made this several times, it comes out a little dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States