Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The batter is very runny and the end product is a dense brick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy Osborne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made this cornbread, I liked that it was moist, but it needs more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made a half recipe and left out the oil. Tasted great with ham and bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bee Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Just like grandma used to make. I serve this often with some chili beans and it is one of my husband's favorite nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe word for word. It came out just ok. It was, IMO, boring with not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Spiegel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and it was amazing. If you really want you cornbread to be sweet you might watch to add some honey, you can taste the sugar in the recipe but I wouldn't consider this recipe to be very sweet. We like to drizzle honey on our cornbread so the recipe was perfect for what we needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
What an odd texture... it was moist all right, to the point that I wasn't sure it was done even after the knife came out squeaky clean, and spongy and dense, even though I did follow the submitter's note to beat for 5 minutes before pouring it into the baking dish. It sliced and served without crumbling at all. I think I prefer my cornbread to crumble a little. The flavor was mild; nothing noteworthy. Edible but will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This is a great corn bread recipe. Highly recommend it. Very moist. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I really liked this cornbread. The only thing I would different is put less sugar in. Maybe half. I found it a little too sweet for my taste. I added some jalapenos for a kick, and my husband and I both really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari F

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S W
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
It is delicious but a bit too dense for me. Will try some other people's suggestions next time I make it to see if they make a difference. Other than that it smells and tastes incredible!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States