Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I am from Texas where we love our cornbread and I have to say this is the BEST recipe I have ever made. I usually don't like my cornbread sweet, but this is not overly sweet and the sugar adds that little extra touch to make this recipe absolutely perfect! Thanks so much for sharing. I will never use another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Not bad; not outstanding, though, either. I did mix the ingredients on low for 5 minutes as suggested in the comment by the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Perfect Corn Bread every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinder92

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
We like our cb a bit sweeter so on second batch I added 2 table spoon stevia and used skim milk to try to counter the added fat of the butter we lathe on to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I don't really know the all the differences between Northern and Southern cornbread, but this recipe delivered exactly what I wanted cornbread to be: it was moist and flavourful, with just enough sweetness and super easy to make. I made sure I beat the batter for 5 minutes in the mixer as WillowsMom99 recommended, I added a can of drained corn, baked it in a cast iron skillet and served it with honey butter and chili. Everyone raved about it and had second and third helpings. Will be my go-to cornbread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was just OK. It was my first time making home made cornbread, and it was just your average cornbread! It did not taste very sweet at all, and I followed the sugar serving recommendations. If you like your cornbread slightly sweet (I did not taste any sweetness, just savory), than perhaps add a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I was so disappointed with this recipe! the cornbread was heavy and tasted like oil. the kitchen smelled like oil. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
my first time making cornbread aside from jiffy. turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Amazing! I followed the recipe to a tee but the only thing I changed was that I pre-heated an iron skillet in the oven at 500 degrees for about 10mins and then I lowered the oven to 375 and poured everything in the skillet. It was done in about 15mins! Even my husband who isn't a cornbread fan LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I found it was too dense, and needed to cook a bit longer. Flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States