Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this cornbread to have at our Chili Supper Evening for twelve ladies. Everyone asked me for the recipe. We all gave the recipe a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I live in the South where cornbread typically doesn't include sugar, but I prefer this recipe over any others I've tried. I read the reviews and beat the batter for five minutes on low in a stand mixer. I also included about 2/3 cup corn because I like the look of the kernels in the bread. The cornbread was almost like a cake. It rose beautifully and came out fluffy. Everyone loved it, including my husband who isn't a huge fan of standard Southern cornbread. I have served this a few times with chili, potato soup, and a curry stew, and thought it was the perfect complement to each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good. Super moist. I followed the recipe exactly...making it for dinner again tonight, this will be the 4th time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
The taste is good, but either the time baking, or the temperature, are way off. After 40 minutes at 400, the centre of the loaf was still a gooey mass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon Arnold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Made this for family get together and everyone raved over it! Doubled the recipe and it was gone in no time. Definitely keeping this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Truly fool-proof recipe! I didn't have the proper cornmeal so I used polenta. I didn't have the proper white flour so I used unbleached flour. Didn't have granulated white sugar either. I had to use brown sugar and I only had 1/4 cup of that. I did have salt and reasonably good baking powder and good eggs. I even had to make up powdered milk! Soaking the polenta worked great. Thanks for the note Willowsmom. I blended all the liquid items (milk,oil and eggs) and let it sit for 15 minutes. I beat the batter again before adding the baking powder, salt and flour. By then the oven was hot (which aided the baking powder). It came out great! It absorbs butter very well. Was great with chili. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alisa
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Hands down this is the easiest and BEST cornbread to make. Didn't have buttermilk on hand but added a splash of vinegar to the cup of milk and let sit briefly then followed recipe EXACTLY as written. Family immediately said how good and moist it was. Must try it will not disappoint. First review I've ever done because it was so good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Just made the recipe and it's in the oven. I did have to substitute mayonnaise for the eggs and oil because I'm on a strict budget and out of eggs. I also noted the sugar not listed in the ingredients list but I don't add sugar to cornbread anyway and its why I chose this recipe. I don't feel it would be right to star rate because of the substitution. (Mayonnaise cake, chocolate, tastes great so I figured why not try it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Lange Rolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Basic, but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is moist and flavorful. Great texture. Made it exactly as written. Not sure how some think this is dry or dense or tasteless. Use better ingredients. Use whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States