Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
YUM! I followed others advice and switched the flour/cornmeal measurements, soaked the cornmeal in coconut milk, and added creamed corn......oh and I forgot the oil and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Always gets great reviews as a potluck. Dice up a jalapeño in it for a little spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camillelee
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
delicious and fluffy! Goes well with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camillelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Perfect cornbread. Lovely texture and great flavor. Used egg whites instead of whole eggs, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
An excellent choice if you want a moist cornbread. We found it a little sweet but still absolutely wonderful. I made 24 individual servings in my square muffin pans and added some chopped, pickled jalapenos to the last 6. A wonderful variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Absolutely the best cornbread recipe I've tried, and I've tried many. The key to this one is to let the cornmeal soak and to really mix the batter very well before pouring it into a cast iron PSB that is oiled and hot from the oven. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Replaced the table sugar with 1/2 cup honey. Tip:use the same measuring cup as the oil. Better flavor, and moist. I also used this recipe for my waffles. I added a mashed banana and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the waffles. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Moist and sweet. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have made this recipe several times and it always turns out great. Whole family loves it. It tastes even better the next day. I did take the suggestion of mixing for 5 minutes other than that I don't change a thing. I have to say this is best cornbread recipe hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My family loved it. I baked in my iron skillet. Perfect cornbread. I used butter instead of oil other than that this is a great receipt. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States