Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was fine but not my kind of cornbread, I guess. I sought a recipe for a 13 x 9 sheet because my normal recipe makes 6 x 9. I will admit that I didn't beat the batter for 5 min. I also made adjustments that I thought would better suit me, changing cornmeal:flour ratio to 1:1 and reducing the sugar to 1/2 c. Still too sweet for me, but flavor was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe to the dot (even let the cornmeal sit with the milk for 5 minutes) and unfortunately, my cornbread was burnt on the edges and dry on the inside. This is what I suggest for the recipe: 1) The length of time the recipe suggests is too long - perhaps, 20 to 25 minutes ought to suffice. 2) Milk, egg, and butter should have been used, and mixed together first, instead of pouring in the fat (vegetable oil) near the end. Otherwise, I think it has potential to be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good, dense, sweet cornbread. Everyone loved it. My boo boo was that I baked it in a 9x9 pan, and figured out my mistake when it took over an hour to bake. The recipe forgave me and still was perfect. I just covered it with foil when it got brown and just kept checking it til it was baked adequately. This was wonderful with lima bean soup from this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This cornbread was delicious! I did have to bake it for quite a bit longer than it says in the recipe, but it still turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good! I successfully halved this recipe. I sprinkle a little sugar on top before sticking in the oven, nice and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Tried this for the first time tonight. Switched the cornmeal and flour amounts, soaked the cornmeal in the milk for 10 mins, and whisked it for 5 mins before baking. It hardly rose at all and the center is very doughy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I'm from the South, and I've never heard of cornbread WITHOUT SUGAR! Maybe all those other SO CALLED Southerners live closer to the M-D line than I do! This recipe is an excellent example of real cornbread. And of course, you can always modify it to your tastes, if necessary. No need to dead-pan someone's recipe, especially after you change it from the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I followed exactly as posted with the exception of allowing the mixture to sit for approx 5 minutes, whipping several times. I also added in 2 diced jalapenos, cooked bacon and old cheddar for a little extra something. Turned out beautifully! This is a keeper for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was fantastic. I made a tiny change. I substituted butter for the oil and flipped the measurements of the flour with the corn meal. My family of 8 loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe was perfect the way it is called out in the recipe and directions. I think it is important to let the whole mix stand for at least five minutes in the pan undisturbed before baking. This created some nice air pockets in the cornbread that were noticed by my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States