Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by S W
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
It is delicious but a bit too dense for me. Will try some other people's suggestions next time I make it to see if they make a difference. Other than that it smells and tastes incredible!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Being Australian, we have never tried corn bread before until this week, when we made a dry and tasteless version. We searched around for a better recipe and this worked. A half quantity was perfect for our family, but it won't be a regular as we find the idea of cornbread a little strange. The recipe is fine though, managing to taste like corn even though there is no fresh corn in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe over the weekend as an aside to a pot of chili and it was FANTASTIC! I have never taken the time to comment on a recipe before, as I'm pretty new to getting them from websites like allrecipes.com, but I was very pleased, my husband loved it and it was all gone in about 24 hours. Well done WILLOWSMOM99!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena Rice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
great. moist. beats jiffy. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
It does lack a bit of flavor, but it's very easy to make and the proportions make a lot of cornbread. I would tweak it a little to make it more sweeter and add butter on top once it's done baking to soften the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I did 1/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup sugar to get that sweet honey taste in the cornbread I love so much. And changed the veggie oil to Crisco instead, to make it really fattening. Only 4 stars becuase of the changes i made otherwise great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Collingwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I like a moister cornbread than this makes so I added another 1/4 cup of milk. I also did not have oil and had to substitute butter (did not realize I was out until too late). I also split it into 2 8in pans instead of one 9x13. Still baked it for 30 min. My family loved it. Next time I make it I will try it with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this recipe with half&half coffee cream instead of milk. This recipe turned out fantastic. I baked it for 30 minutes at 400' I would not cook a moment more. It made a dense spongy Bread perfect for BBQ meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe! It was the tastiest and simplest cornbread ever. As with all quick breads, do not mix it too much. Once its combined, leave it. It only took 25 minutes for mine to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EssenceRose
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is the best cornbread I've tried so far!! LOVE this recipe! It's so easy and quick to make. If you follow the directions as written, you're guaranteed to get a sweet almost cake-like cornbread! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States