Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is back as a Thanksgiving encore in our house. The cornbread is delicious, moist, looks gorgeous, tastes fabulous. I did not tweak this one bit. I highly recommend this as I think it's the best cornbread I've had in my entire life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
took far longer to cook than recipe calls for. I tested with a knife after 35 minutes and it was still raw in the center...ended up cooking it for over an hour to get it to cook thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
My husband said it was good In 4 years of cooking nothing has ever been rated cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This recipe never fails! it's the fourth time I make it and it's delicious every time! Great with some home made chilli or for a Canadian twist, as desert with maple syrup YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This corn bread was very good. It made a large amount, good for a crowd. It was dense and held it's shape but was not dry. I am giving 5 stars because although I feel it needs more cornmeal, it was well liked by my family as is. Other comments have mentioned the lack of corn flavor, I completely agree and will use more cornmeal and less flour in the future. However, as is, taste was great just missing a strong corn flavor. I baked for 30 minutes and mixed batter for 5 minutes as recommended by reviewers, it was perfect. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just what I was looking for - Less crumbly than some, sweet but not overbearing, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is my go to corn bread recipe!!! Cooking/baking doesn't come natural for me if you know what I mean so finding a recipe that turns out great every time is great! My kids abc husband love it! I substitute sugar for honey and the oil for butter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was my first time making corn bread and I'm happy I chose this recipe. I followed others advice and mixed it for 5 minutes before I baked it. It was delicious. It went very well with the spicy chili I made as well. The approved too which made it worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe was great! My first time making corn bread from scratch and it was definitely a hit. My only suggestion would be for those who like a sweeter taste to add a bit more sugar. Also, soaking the cornmeal/milk mixture for 10mins is a good tip, as well as beating the batter for 5mins longer. Overall, a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States