Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very good, dense, sweet cornbread. Everyone loved it. My boo boo was that I baked it in a 9x9 pan, and figured out my mistake when it took over an hour to bake. The recipe forgave me and still was perfect. I just covered it with foil when it got brown and just kept checking it til it was baked adequately. This was wonderful with lima bean soup from this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This cornbread was delicious! I did have to bake it for quite a bit longer than it says in the recipe, but it still turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good! I successfully halved this recipe. I sprinkle a little sugar on top before sticking in the oven, nice and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Tried this for the first time tonight. Switched the cornmeal and flour amounts, soaked the cornmeal in the milk for 10 mins, and whisked it for 5 mins before baking. It hardly rose at all and the center is very doughy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I followed exactly as posted with the exception of allowing the mixture to sit for approx 5 minutes, whipping several times. I also added in 2 diced jalapenos, cooked bacon and old cheddar for a little extra something. Turned out beautifully! This is a keeper for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was fantastic. I made a tiny change. I substituted butter for the oil and flipped the measurements of the flour with the corn meal. My family of 8 loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe was perfect the way it is called out in the recipe and directions. I think it is important to let the whole mix stand for at least five minutes in the pan undisturbed before baking. This created some nice air pockets in the cornbread that were noticed by my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Wasn't too keen on these. I thought they were a bit dry for my tastes. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I thought this cornbread was great (and so did my husband). I did beat the batter for the suggested 5 minutes and baked it in a cast iron skillet. Crunchy good on the outside and moist in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I found this recipe easy to make, and I quite liked its taste. I will make again , but might use the suggestion of mixing longer for a little lighter cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States