Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by bakergirl
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I love this! It is better than the boxed kind. This is so easy! I didn't have the specified pan, so I used two square pans and put them in for 25 - 30 minutes. They came out perfectly. I am so making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Easy, good home made corn bread recipe. I have made this several times, it comes out a little dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Loved it! Actually, forgot the salt and cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup... Was very moist and still sweet. Not "crumbly" at all. Great cornbread... may add actual corn next time to see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is the best cornbread I have ever eaten! Very moist and thick! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Ok..I had EVERY intention to follow this recipe to the letter. I thought it would go well with my split-pea soup. What happened? Star Trek happened. One of my favorite episodes. 1. I used 3 cups of cornmeal. 2. 1 cup of (self-rising) flour. I whisked the eggs, then 1/3 cup of sugar, salt, and I then I poured in, 4. 1 and 3/4 cup of milk that was about to sour, smelled edible to me. 5. I heated up the oil in the pan I was using 6. Then poured the liquid into the dry ingredients. 7. I stirred about 2 minutes 8. Then poured in the heated oil. 9. I rushed through this hoping I could finish before my kid got home from school. 10. Then I realized that I should have read the entire recipe and stirred..oops mixed for 5 minutes at least to make it lighter. Well forget that, it was on its way to bakersville. With time to spare as Kirk and crew got out of the Mirrorverse. The result?? Best freakin' cornbread I have ever made!! Thank-you so very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
We liked this recipe. It had a good taste, and it doesn't crumble at a touch, so it was easy to pick up and eat. My only change was that I had to use half white and half brown sugar, because I ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
WOW! This is now my only recipe for cornbread. I did add shredded sharp cheddar to the batter. Used a cast iron pot, preheated in the 400 degree oven (melted 2T butter in it), for baking the cornbread. Just lovely and incredibly moist. I did let the cornmeal and milk sit together, with wisking every minute or so for at least 5 minutes. Excellent flavor. Would have loved to have put in some fresh corn as well, but did not have any on hand. Thank you, Willowsmom99, for this recipe and thanks to all for technique suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Great on the BBQ! combined it all up, and threw it onto the BBQ next to a pork roast that we're cooking on the spit. Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is the first time I made cornbread by scratch and amazingly I had everything I needed. I followed this recipe exactly. The mix seemed a little runny to me and it made me a little nervous but it was all for naught. The cornbread was moist with just the right amount of sweet. I made this for chili tonight. I think next time I'll add some honey for a sweeter taste. As it is, this is a great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe is great alone, but but kind of tasteless so I tried it with these variations: •use all brown sugar and use a little more than the original amount •add a 2 capfulls of pure vanilla extract when mixing all ingredients together •add 1 can of sweet fancy grade yellow corn also when mixing all ingredients together •and use a little more flour than recipe calls for If you try this it is much better than the original. I hope this helps! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States