Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Love, love, love, this cornbread recipe FOR CORN STICKS ONLY. Really - our family only likes this recipe when we make it up as corn sticks *with these modifications*: swap quantities of flour/cornmeal, use whole wheat flour, use raw sugar, soak cornmeal for 5-10 minutes, bake in preheated corn stick pans w/melted butter - but not overfilling them at all - perhaps underfilling them. For that purpose, we truly love this recipe. Nothing else compares to the crisp crunch of this recipe when a lot of crust is involved, even when/if this recipes is not whisked for the five minutes recommended in most reviews. Oh! the crunch when this is made with a bit of butter melted in pre-heated corn stick pans???? --- it's really wonderful! For other ways of baking cornbread though (muffins, in a cast iron skillet, etc.)? We have other favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this cornbread and it was the best Iv ever had! I usually get the Marie Calendars mix, lazy, I know , but today I made this and it was sooo much better! moist and delicious and it did not fall apart when you cut it. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon Macanufo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe is great. I actually take it camping and mix the milk, cornmeal, oil and eggs together in one container and all the dry in another. Just mix them together, and cook in a Dutch oven in the fire. Super fantastic and simple and tastes great. I think the cornmeal likes soaking for a day or two. I've never had a failure in my oven, or Dutch oven with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is the only cornbread recipe I use now. Consistently turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I read a couple of reviews and beat the batter for five minutes before baking. It turned out so well that it is going to be my family's new staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I'm another baker in love with this recipe. It's simply delicious. I have made it as-published (without the extra mixing) and it comes out fine (I like my cornbread a little dense). I've also made it in a loaf pan, and once I worked out the extra cooking time, it's fine. My favorite tweak, however, is to omit the salt and baking powder and use self-rising flour instead. Delicious and fluffy! Thanks for this recipe. It's the only one I use now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Worst outcome I've ever had with an AllRecipes recipe. Very bland, extremely heavy, very moist texture with (as many people have observed) little "cornbread" taste to it. Even extra cooking made no difference. Followed all of the top-rated suggestions (e.g. extra mixing). Another reviewer suggested it might be the inclusion of the oil that has this result and I wonder if that's the case... Will be trying a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was a great cornbread recipe. Often when I have tried to make cornbread it is dry and crumbly. Thiis one was not at all. I even used gluten free flour for the added regular flour (coconut flour kind) because my grandson is allergic. Everyone loved it. I did follow the recipe for soaking the corn meal and milk first and then mixing all the ingredients for 5 minutes. I put a glass dish with a tablespoon of butter in the oven while it preheated so the dish was already hot when I added the mix. It was moist and had a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was fine but not my kind of cornbread, I guess. I sought a recipe for a 13 x 9 sheet because my normal recipe makes 6 x 9. I will admit that I didn't beat the batter for 5 min. I also made adjustments that I thought would better suit me, changing cornmeal:flour ratio to 1:1 and reducing the sugar to 1/2 c. Still too sweet for me, but flavor was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe to the dot (even let the cornmeal sit with the milk for 5 minutes) and unfortunately, my cornbread was burnt on the edges and dry on the inside. This is what I suggest for the recipe: 1) The length of time the recipe suggests is too long - perhaps, 20 to 25 minutes ought to suffice. 2) Milk, egg, and butter should have been used, and mixed together first, instead of pouring in the fat (vegetable oil) near the end. Otherwise, I think it has potential to be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States