Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Very good recipe. As others have said it is dense and moist. It is a little more like cake than the cornbread I'm used to. I added a can of corn and reduced the milk accordingly. I followed the suggestions and did beat the batter for quite a while and I also added a couple of teaspoons of baking soda. I made a double batch and made it in bread loaf pans; it needed longer baking so after 30 minutes I covered the loaves with foil and baked at 350 degrees for another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very bland. Not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Having read the reviews about it drying out so quickly, I stored the uneaten cornbread in Tupperware as soon as it was cool enough to not sweat. The next day it was still as moist as when newly baked. Another time I'll reserve some of the cornmeal to add with the flour as I like a pebbly texture. Loved it with the Insanely Easy Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I was surprised at how bland this was, what with all the raving reviews. I have never made corn bread before, but I took the advice of reviewers and switched the amounts of the cornmeal and flour and let the cornmeal and milk (I used almond milk, but that shouldn't make a bit of difference, and I used it to substitute milk all the time) soak for 10 minutes rather than 5. I wonder if honey instead of sugar and butter instead of oil would have improved the taste. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Great cornbread recipe! I cook it in my cast iron skillet, and it turns out perfect every time. Make sure that if you use cast iron, you oil it heavily (I use olive oil), and put it in the oven while it's preheating. You never want to put a cold cast iron skillet in a hot oven! And besides, it gives the cornbread a beautiful crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was very bland and flavorless. The texture was spongy. I was just looking for a classic recipe and was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I love this cornbread. I am from the South and make it WITHOUT the sugar. I use self-rising flour and leave out the baking powder and salt. And I always use olive oil instead of a vegetable oil. OK, so mine seems like almost a different recipe, but it's good. I think the soaking the corn meal in the milk must make the good difference between this and ordinary cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wonderful cornbread! Will make it again, hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Very good. It was a little dense, so I will try beating longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was great!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States