Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
WOW! This is now my only recipe for cornbread. I did add shredded sharp cheddar to the batter. Used a cast iron pot, preheated in the 400 degree oven (melted 2T butter in it), for baking the cornbread. Just lovely and incredibly moist. I did let the cornmeal and milk sit together, with wisking every minute or so for at least 5 minutes. Excellent flavor. Would have loved to have put in some fresh corn as well, but did not have any on hand. Thank you, Willowsmom99, for this recipe and thanks to all for technique suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Great on the BBQ! combined it all up, and threw it onto the BBQ next to a pork roast that we're cooking on the spit. Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is the first time I made cornbread by scratch and amazingly I had everything I needed. I followed this recipe exactly. The mix seemed a little runny to me and it made me a little nervous but it was all for naught. The cornbread was moist with just the right amount of sweet. I made this for chili tonight. I think next time I'll add some honey for a sweeter taste. As it is, this is a great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe is great alone, but but kind of tasteless so I tried it with these variations: •use all brown sugar and use a little more than the original amount •add a 2 capfulls of pure vanilla extract when mixing all ingredients together •add 1 can of sweet fancy grade yellow corn also when mixing all ingredients together •and use a little more flour than recipe calls for If you try this it is much better than the original. I hope this helps! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Absolutely perfect for me so far everyone who has tried it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ferrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have used this recipe a few times now, I won't even look at other recipes because I like this one so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
It's was excellent cornbread! So moist and it didn't fall apart or crumble like other recipes. My new favorite! It's very important to follow the submitters instructions in the reviews to mix it for five minutes and don't forget to let the cornmeal soak... Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is THE BEST cornbread ever! Absolutely delicious, moist, tender, and my children gobble up the entire pan in one day. I admit I help them. I'm a southerner and down here we don't add sugar to traditional cornbread, but I am here to say that this is one tradition I am willing to break. This recipe is too good to squabble over tradition. I apologize to all my beloved southern kinfolk, and recommend that you try this. I guarantee y'all will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Good, but too dense, I read the reviews and did as told, I also would of liked more corn flavor. Was hoping for something more fluffy. I will play with this recipe until its just right tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I've tried a lot of recipes looking for "the one" and let me tell you, this is it! It is so moist! This will be my go to recipe from now on. I made my in a cast iron skillet. It's a must when making cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States