Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It was perfect. I adjusted the serving size to 8. I've never baked anything from scratch before. This came out just beautiful. It was delicious. We don't keep regular milk at my house, so I used Almond milk. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Recipe makes a large batch. Family enjoyed and will make again. May add just a bit more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The best corn bread I've ever tasted!!....and I'm from the South!! It is more like a cake than bread! I added an extra egg and used 1 1/2 cups butter milk and one cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My favorite recipe for use in cornbread dressing--just sweet enough for a lovely savory dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very good!! Turned out perfectly! If I had to pick out one thing, I would add a touch less sugar (just a personal preference.) Also, try substituting about a half-cup of the cornmeal for cooked quinoa for added super-nutrients. I did, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Finally! A cornbread recipe that tastes amazing! It's the perfect mix of light / fluffy, moist, and the much looked for cornbread texture. I'm done searching: this is our cornbread recipe from now on. I only made one change due to dietary needs.....I used plain rice milk instead of regular milk. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The best cornbread I've made ever. I halved the recipe (8 servings instead of the origial 15) and followed the instructions. (First, I watched the video as I am a visual learner). I did NOT beat for 5 minutes and my bread came out great! It was MOIST and just the right amount of sweetness. Served it with a cajun 10 bean "soup" that I bought from the store. My husband loved it. We've made cornbread from scratch before, often using freshly ground cornmeal from a mill we visited. Ran out of that and used some regular old plain cornmeal that I've had in the fridge for about 6 months. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Okay - what can I do to make it more moist out of the pain instead of a day later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I like sweet cornbread, so I loved this recipe. Followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
try adding 1 cup of sugar next time instead of 2/3rds just to sweeten it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States