Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Not my favorite cornbread muffins I'm afraid. I like a crumbly corn muffin, these were very cakey. DH liked them tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe is so bad that I became a member to rate it. Dense, heavy, gooey block. Browned on top and egdes, toothpick came out clean, but still a raw layer in between a wet, solid mass. Inedible. I did the extra beating recommended by reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this gluten free by using 1 cup rice flour, 3/4 cup potato starch flour, 1/4 cup tapioca starch instead of the 2 cups of normal flour. (All other ingredients the same.) Worked like a charm. This bread was GREAT! Everyone went back for seconds on the bread. Next time I will double the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Moist and cakey and sweet, which is how we tend to like our cornbread! It was maybe just the tiniest bit flat-tasting - next time I might add more salt. (I use kosher salt, which is less salty than table salt, so that might have done it; I also used a packet of dried nonfat milk with enough water added to yield 2.5 cups, so that might be the culprit, too.) I made muffins, baked at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, and the recipe yielded 24 regular-sized muffins. This is an almost perfect recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this cornbread to tone down the spiciness of a black bean soup I made. And it was amazing! I have never tasted a cornbread so sweet and airy in my life! Will most definately be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Nice texture, but I wanted a stronger corn taste, so I increased the amount of corn meal and decreased the amount of AP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Best cornbread EVER!!!! Moist, perfect density, flavorful! My husband says best best I have ever made and he is a cornbread connoisseur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Cornbread perfection! I followed the recipe exactly, vigorously mixing the batter for several minutes before pouring it into the pan. It was sweet, fluffy and airy, and is now my official "go to" cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It was perfect. I adjusted the serving size to 8. I've never baked anything from scratch before. This came out just beautiful. It was delicious. We don't keep regular milk at my house, so I used Almond milk. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Recipe makes a large batch. Family enjoyed and will make again. May add just a bit more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States