Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Moist and cakey and sweet, which is how we tend to like our cornbread! It was maybe just the tiniest bit flat-tasting - next time I might add more salt. (I use kosher salt, which is less salty than table salt, so that might have done it; I also used a packet of dried nonfat milk with enough water added to yield 2.5 cups, so that might be the culprit, too.) I made muffins, baked at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, and the recipe yielded 24 regular-sized muffins. This is an almost perfect recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this cornbread to tone down the spiciness of a black bean soup I made. And it was amazing! I have never tasted a cornbread so sweet and airy in my life! Will most definately be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Nice texture, but I wanted a stronger corn taste, so I increased the amount of corn meal and decreased the amount of AP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Best cornbread EVER!!!! Moist, perfect density, flavorful! My husband says best best I have ever made and he is a cornbread connoisseur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Cornbread perfection! I followed the recipe exactly, vigorously mixing the batter for several minutes before pouring it into the pan. It was sweet, fluffy and airy, and is now my official "go to" cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It was perfect. I adjusted the serving size to 8. I've never baked anything from scratch before. This came out just beautiful. It was delicious. We don't keep regular milk at my house, so I used Almond milk. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Recipe makes a large batch. Family enjoyed and will make again. May add just a bit more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The best corn bread I've ever tasted!!....and I'm from the South!! It is more like a cake than bread! I added an extra egg and used 1 1/2 cups butter milk and one cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My favorite recipe for use in cornbread dressing--just sweet enough for a lovely savory dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very good!! Turned out perfectly! If I had to pick out one thing, I would add a touch less sugar (just a personal preference.) Also, try substituting about a half-cup of the cornmeal for cooked quinoa for added super-nutrients. I did, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States