Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It was pretty dry, but slathering on some butter solved that problem. I usually don't like cornbread, but this didn't have too strong of a flavour, so I liked it; good for dipping in chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I've never made anything this easy that tasted this good. My husband fell in love with me again! It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My husband and kids said this recipe is the BEST one yet. I have been trying different recipes for years and this one everyone loved! We paired it with chili and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I used gluten free all purpose flour, 2 cups cornmeal instead of 1-1/2 cups, 1/2 cup sugar (as I don't like too sweet a taste) and cooked for 30 min. I too beat the mixture for 5 minutes. It came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Love this recipe! About to make it for a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idabug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I just made the recipe as is and tasted it....OMG....so moist and delicious. Since i am not a great fan of white sugar, I put 1/2 brown and 1/2 white. I found the cornbread sweet enough this way....I will definitely make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawinigan, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I did every the recipe said to do, and was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Not my favorite cornbread muffins I'm afraid. I like a crumbly corn muffin, these were very cakey. DH liked them tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe is so bad that I became a member to rate it. Dense, heavy, gooey block. Browned on top and egdes, toothpick came out clean, but still a raw layer in between a wet, solid mass. Inedible. I did the extra beating recommended by reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this gluten free by using 1 cup rice flour, 3/4 cup potato starch flour, 1/4 cup tapioca starch instead of the 2 cups of normal flour. (All other ingredients the same.) Worked like a charm. This bread was GREAT! Everyone went back for seconds on the bread. Next time I will double the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States