Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My favorite recipe for use in cornbread dressing--just sweet enough for a lovely savory dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very good!! Turned out perfectly! If I had to pick out one thing, I would add a touch less sugar (just a personal preference.) Also, try substituting about a half-cup of the cornmeal for cooked quinoa for added super-nutrients. I did, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Finally! A cornbread recipe that tastes amazing! It's the perfect mix of light / fluffy, moist, and the much looked for cornbread texture. I'm done searching: this is our cornbread recipe from now on. I only made one change due to dietary needs.....I used plain rice milk instead of regular milk. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The best cornbread I've made ever. I halved the recipe (8 servings instead of the origial 15) and followed the instructions. (First, I watched the video as I am a visual learner). I did NOT beat for 5 minutes and my bread came out great! It was MOIST and just the right amount of sweetness. Served it with a cajun 10 bean "soup" that I bought from the store. My husband loved it. We've made cornbread from scratch before, often using freshly ground cornmeal from a mill we visited. Ran out of that and used some regular old plain cornmeal that I've had in the fridge for about 6 months. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Okay - what can I do to make it more moist out of the pain instead of a day later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I like sweet cornbread, so I loved this recipe. Followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
try adding 1 cup of sugar next time instead of 2/3rds just to sweeten it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This wasn't exceptional, but it wasn't terrible, either. The only change I made from the original was that I used 1/2 c sugar instead of 2/3 c. It was plenty sweet like that. I beat it for a full five minutes, which resulted in large air pockets at the top and bottom of the bread and a dense center. It was a bit dry and not all that flavorful. This will probably not be a repeat recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
When I baked this, it took a bit longer than necessary, and the middle was still a little uncooked while the top was very dark. I would definitely use this recipe again, but I would adjust cooking temperature to avoid the previous issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I never rated this one the first time we tried it.... but thought I would now as it has become a family favorite. Add some jalopenos for a little kick. Or not. We found the recipe perfect as is and it goes perfect with our favorite chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Family Mentors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States