Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I tried the recipe and it was amazing! i did have some issues with it being undercooked but that was because I used an improper pan. Otherwise it was very good. I am from the south, Georgia and it tasted like I was home again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The whole family loved it! Beat the batter for 5 minutes and it came out perfect. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made this with buttermilk because I had some on-hand that I needed to use up, and it was the best homemade cornbread that I have ever had! It was super moist, perfectly (not overly) sweet and had great texture. I don't even want to know how many calories it has per serving! Haha. But regardless, I WILL be making this again! :) Thank you, WILLOWSMOM99!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmers70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made Grandmothers Buttermilk cornbread last weekend and this one today. This is my favorite! I only cooked it for 25 minutes, I think if I cooked longer than that it would of been too dry. This is moist and has really good flavor. I found Grandmother Buttermilk recipe too sweet. This one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Obviously lots of people like it, based on the ratings. I found that this recipe didn't have enough "corn" taste to it and was too sweet and dense. I hesitate to even call it cornbread, it was kinda like a dense cake at best. I was intrigued by the different method (mixing milk and cornmeal) and I generally follow the recipe exactly as written the first time I make it. Even the recipe on the box of cornmeal is FAR better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Awful. You cant taste the corn flavor at all. I felt it tasted more like a sugar cookie with little sugar and no butter. My husband said it tasted like Play Doh. Don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was a total fail for me. I did everything according to the recipe and the suggestions of mixing for 5 mins and it came out like a hockey puck. The flavour was fine but I'm sure glad I didn't have company over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe hoping that it would be light and fluffy like my moms always was when I was a kid but instead it's very dense and bland. Gonna be looking elsewhere for another recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have a honey cornbread recipe that my family has loved for years, but this tops it. It is moist, light and fluffy. I freeze individual portions of whatever I make and this freezes beautifully. It was wonderful with my mother's chili recipe that I made yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
best cornbread ive ever made,followed recipe as written, beat for full 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,640) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States