Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Great recipe, but it tastes better if you replace the milk with whipping cream and double the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This is my first time making cornbread and it turned out perfect! It wasn't to dry and it tasted amazing. This is now my official cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Hands down, the best cornbread recipe I've ever tried. I usually make a buttermilk cornbread on this site. But I was out of butter so I searched for one with oil. I was also out of sweet milk (!) so I used my buttermilk and 1 1/2 tablespoons each of baking powder and baking soda to adjust. Perfect! But I think it will be just as good if all I have is regular milk. Definitely my new cornbread recipe. It rose so high and was so light and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have used this recipe now every time I make chili and it never fails! Someone always asks me for the recipe! Easy and super delicious with honey butter! There's never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
It's really do good and it's perfectly explained! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I found this very dense and tastless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have used this recipe again and again over the years, and everyone I serve it to LOVES it! It is simple and tastes great! I changed a couple of things due to my baking habits. First, I use butter instead of Veggie oil. Also, we like a little less sugar, so we use about a little less than what is recommended. Overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I'll try this one again. I was following one of the suggestions about cutting recipe in half. Mixed up great, but just when I thought I was ready to pour into the pan I notice I had forgotten to add the egg and oil. Crossed my fingers and added them mixing into the mixture well. Poured into iron skillet and put it in the oven starting out for 20 min. Had to leave it in for a few minutes longer. It never browned but looks and tastes good. Hoping next time I make it I get all the stuff in before mixing and not just when I'm ready to pour into the pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Carlisle, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hymera, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
great recipe, I modify it by using 1/2 coarse cornmeal and 1/2 fine which gives it a nice crunchy and still moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
It was excellent. I cut the recipe in half as there is only my daughter and I eating. I added some chopped raw jalapeno, cheese and 1 tblsp of sour cream. It was fluffy, moist and yummy with the chili. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States