Homesteader Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I have used this recipe again and again over the years, and everyone I serve it to LOVES it! It is simple and tastes great! I changed a couple of things due to my baking habits. First, I use butter instead of Veggie oil. Also, we like a little less sugar, so we use about a little less than what is recommended. Overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I'll try this one again. I was following one of the suggestions about cutting recipe in half. Mixed up great, but just when I thought I was ready to pour into the pan I notice I had forgotten to add the egg and oil. Crossed my fingers and added them mixing into the mixture well. Poured into iron skillet and put it in the oven starting out for 20 min. Had to leave it in for a few minutes longer. It never browned but looks and tastes good. Hoping next time I make it I get all the stuff in before mixing and not just when I'm ready to pour into the pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Carlisle, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hymera, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
great recipe, I modify it by using 1/2 coarse cornmeal and 1/2 fine which gives it a nice crunchy and still moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
It was excellent. I cut the recipe in half as there is only my daughter and I eating. I added some chopped raw jalapeno, cheese and 1 tblsp of sour cream. It was fluffy, moist and yummy with the chili. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maalrif78
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
So good!! I added 2 tablespoons (or so) of honey for a bit more sweetness! My husband loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This really did not come out good for us at all. I followed the recipe, including the submitters tip for mixing it for 5 minutes after combining. It had a rubbery, gummy texture to it that just was not good. I did like the idea of soaking the cornmeal in the milk. I've never done that before, but now I don't know if that contributed to the bad texture. Sorry. Thank you for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
YUM! I followed others advice and switched the flour/cornmeal measurements, soaked the cornmeal in coconut milk, and added creamed corn......oh and I forgot the oil and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Always gets great reviews as a potluck. Dice up a jalapeño in it for a little spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camillelee
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
delicious and fluffy! Goes well with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camillelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Perfect cornbread. Lovely texture and great flavor. Used egg whites instead of whole eggs, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States