Homemade Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Use real milk it's much better. The best way to use powdered milk is to add a few tablespoons to make yogurt thicker when you start the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I used a thermos flask to incubate for 9hrs and it turned out wonderful. This was my first attempt at yogurt making and I am proud of the result. I also used yogurt starter because I don't trust the store yogurt available in my country. They could read live and active culture but cannot be trusted. Good end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Thinking of replacing the Powder milk with goat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was my first attempt and prompted because my local supermarket rarely has plain yoghurt and I don't like flavored. I tried this recipe using four cups of 2% milk and plain yoghurt. I scalded the milk first, then let it cool to 110F. I placed the mixture in a quart sized mason jar then set it in a slow cooker filled to the neck of the jar in warm water, covered it and left it all night (10 hours) without switching on the slow cooker. The yoghurt was thick, creamy and had a lovely piquant tang. I will try it next using the powdered milk, but so far, so very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Can you use this recipe in a yogurt maker??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
EASY!!! I put it in a large Zip Bag overnight in my "OFF" oven. I kept this going all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This totally worked! Great inexpensive and environmentally sound way to make yogurt. We eat yogurt everyday and I was sooooo sick of all the empty yogurt containers. I set my jars inside my box dehydrator with the trays out and turned it on low right before I went to bed. Worked like a charm! Yogurt was done in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is a great way to make yogurt without all the chemicals found in most store brands(especially GMO corn starch) but it does take too long. I did a little experiment yesterday(2nd time making yogurt). I took two small glass jars with equal amounts of ingredients as the recipe calls for in each one, one covered and one open, put both in an uncovered pot with water higher than the ingredients in the jars, put on the electric burner the lowest setting possible to keep it around 110 degrees for 12 hours(still have to turn it on and off manually so it's not too hot). The yogurt without the lid ended up much thicker than the one with the lid but both are usable. I also used vanilla yogurt as my starter and seems to work fine. Why do recipes always say to use plain yogurt as a starter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I have a yogurt maker: Below is how I make my perfect yogurt: 1. Boil the whole milk 2. Add sugar to the milk 3. Pour the milk into the jars and wait till it's warm, around 115°F 4. Mix 1 table spoon of Greek yogurt with 1 table spoon of milk 5. Put above yogurt mix into each jar, just 1/2 - 1 tea spoon for each jar, mix it. 6. Place the jars in the yogurt maker, set 10 hours and push the red On button.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Really good, firm yogurt. You can use real milk if you wish. Yumm, so easy, I make all of our yogurt now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

All about Yogurt

Meet the creamy fermented dairy treat with the yummy tart taste.

Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken

See how to put the thrill back into summer grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States