Homemade Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My schoolmate and I used to make yogurt all the time when we were in college, and did not have a lot of money. It tastes better than store-bought too! We placed 1 Tabl. of active yogurt into a glass 9 x 12 baking pan. We used whole milk, half & half was even better! Mix yogurt with 4 cups of milk. Place in lowest setting on oven, place on top shelf of oven, and leave over nightin closed oven. You should have yummy yogort by morning. Mix with your favorite fresh fruit. Sweeten with honey, sugar, or your favorite sweetner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Cool! What I have found that works great for incubation is to seperate the milk/yogurt starter mixture into small mason jars, put the jars in a pot, and fill the pot with enough water to come up to where the milk/yogurt mixture is in the jars. Then put a candy thermometer in the water. Turn the burner on really low and get the water to between 110 and 120 degrees, and keep it there for 4-6 hours. Worked like a charm, and then you just put the lids on the jars and pop them in the fridge and you have individual servings all ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I tried using 4 cups of nonfat milk instead of the dry milk and water, and it turned out perfectly. I warmed up my oven a little, and then left the light on to keep it warm, left the mixture in there overnight, and put it in the fridge when it had solidified enough. I think since my oven was not that warm, I had to leave it in quite a bit longer, but it turned out really good, and was fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
After some trial and error with the incubation period ( I do not have a gas oven) I found that wrapping the container in a hot pad on the lowest setting for about 8 hours produced PERFECT yogurt...rich and creamy. The kids love it too...what a time saver and a great way to use my over abundance of milk powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnsonnestchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Yay! This was soooo easy and delicious. I made it in a large glass mixing bowl and put it in my electric oven overnight with just the light on. If it isn't thick enough in the morning I set the oven for 100 and leave it for a couple hours. Delicious! I was intimidated to try making yogurt and thought you had to have the yogurt machine. Now I will now be making it at least twice a week without the added nuisance of a machine taking up space. My son can eat 2-3 small containers a day (and he's only 6 1/2), and he loves this so it is going to save us a lot of money.***I just made this again and wanted to add that fresh yogurt is already sweet! Who Knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Agree with Corrine and Sherry. Milk is the way to go. Powdered milk gives it a funny taste. I use skim milk, but whole and half and half is great if you don't mind the calories. I've a recipe in my recipe box that gives some hints including how to make runny yogurt creamier... even how to make "yogurt cheese" All the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
As a college student in Southern Utah I would make the yogurt, put it out in the sun and by the end of the day it was perfect(as long as the sun remained out all day) You can also add jam, vanilla, or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was ok. The flavor was good but not amazing. Make sure not to stir it or it will separate and be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I think this a great start for venturing into the world of homemade yogurt. However, the steps described can lead to a great deal of variability. Also, you can use any kind of milk, and not restrict yourself to powdered (or use it all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeMadeYogurt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This yogurt was easy to make, but it tasted like the dry milk, which I didn't prefer. It works well when used in pancake or waffle recipes, but my husband and I didn't like it on its own or with granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

All about Yogurt

Meet the creamy fermented dairy treat with the yummy tart taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States