Homemade Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Really good, firm yogurt. You can use real milk if you wish. Yumm, so easy, I make all of our yogurt now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I don't care for powdered milk, so I've been making this with 2% milk, which makes it thinner, but it works for me. If you use a higher ratio milk to yogurt, it thickens better, and I leave it in the gas oven with light on longer, as well. I added a banana and nutmeg, stuck it in the freezer for half an hour, and it's great for breakfast or dessert. Today I used it as a salad dressing. Love this recipe -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
awesome! now I can get rid of the 2 yogurt machines I have taking up space. The machines take so long to make so little. With this recipe, I'm able to make grater quantities and adjust the add-ins to satisfy my yogurt loving family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this exactly as recipe states. I used my electric oven overnight with the light on, and it turned out wonderful! Will definately use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Thanks for reminding me that this is possible. I first made yogurt from the Whole Earth Catalog in the 1960's when I had small children and no money. The powdered milk saves money, and, just as important, saves on fat content. Someone asked if you can thicken it. Yes, you can. Either add powdered milk to bottled milk of whatever kind you prefer, or use more powdered milk with water. Just make sure the powder is mixed in well. You can experiment to see which proportions give the result you prefer, but remember that more powder means more calories, so you may want to serve smaller portions. You can also experiment to see which yogurt culture you like best, whether it's Dannon or Fage or some other. This is easier and cheaper than buying powdered cultures from specialty stores. In my experience it's better to add the fruit after the yogurt has fermented. I also made my own granola from the Whole Earth Catalog. Those were the days! and now I'm retired, I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a great, easy way to get a good amount of delicious yogurt. I used 2% milk because that is the kind of yogurt I like best (yes, LOVE): Fage 2%. Mmmmmm BUT!!! the Fage is Greek yogurt, which is creamier and has a higher percentage of calcium and protein, which I'd like to emulate. Does anyone know how to concentrate milk, that is, get the water out so it's more concentrated? That, I think, is what sets Greek yogurt apart: it's concentrated so it's creamier, etc. BTW, the recipe nutritional information indicates that there are 15 grams of fat per serving in this recipe! If anyone can figure out how you get 15 grams of fat from skim milk powder and water, maybe we can feed the world!!! Thanks, and thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
It is recommended that you don’t use more than 5 generations of starter; as the live culture is no longer active. And after all isn’t that why we love yogurt, because it’s alive?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A thermos flask works well, saves leaving it in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is a recipe we had growing up. To help with the taste of the powdered milk, Mom often added 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract. More can be added to adjust to your taste. Thanks for the memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My sister gave me a yogert machine with 1 packet of yogert mix. The mix is not in my budget. This recipe will work perfect. I love to put yogurt on my cereal instead of milk! So now I can have an endless supply of yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Adkins Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pineland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

All about Yogurt

Meet the creamy fermented dairy treat with the yummy tart taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States