Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was great! I made it with my own homemade chicken stock and added fresh grated ginger. Exceptional! Thank you Allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I am new to the won ton game..but my man loves won ton soup and was bugging me to make it...I finally gave in and looked at several recipes..This one seemed easy enough..I prepared it as exactly written..I was a little skeptical but made my little won tons..which was a little time consuming but my boyfriend helped and it was fun! I boiled the won tons in water before adding them to the broth and the end product was AMAZING! I have never tasted such wonderful soup like this.It was so filling and tasted so fresh! My boyfriend thinks I'm a professional cook! Thank you starry night for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I used ground turkey instead of pork to cut some calories, and omitted quite a few other ingredients because either I didn't have them on hand (like shrimp) or didn't like them. I used panko breadcrumbs, EggBeaters for the egg (helps to get that 1/2 egg serving easier) and low-sodium FF chicken broth. All I added to the broth after the wontons were in was the bok choy, and it turned out great! If you want a soup with "more stuff", definitely add the shrimp and maybe some BBQ pork. The broth doesn't taste exactly like the stuff from the Chinese restaurant, but the wontons are spot on, even using lean turkey! I may play with the recipe a bit in the future to find that good broth flavor (beef stock, maybe?). I only made a half batch because I wasn't sure I'd like it, and it made a good 2-3 bowls of soup with plenty of wontons in each. Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bombsfadeaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Time consuming but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Allow yourself plenty of time to make this - rolling the wontons is a slow process. A couple of NOTES: I followed the suggestions to boil the wontons in water separately, then add them to the soup once cooked. This was a good idea, but I let my wontons sit in the colander too long & they stuck together & some tore open - Just a warning. Also, although the recipe doesn't indicate it, I cooked my sausage on the stovetop before filling the wrappers. It didn't seem to me that the filling would have cooked in the 5-minute boil, & I didn't want to risk raw meat. It worked great -- I wonder if pre-cooking the sausage is a step missed in the instructions?? Overall, it's worth the labor as it's a very flavorful soup. Only ingredient change I made was to sub 25% of the broth with beef as that's what I've seen used in Chinese restaurants. The family LOVED it (even little ones) & I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
We have a Chinese foreign exchange student came to our house for dinner. His eyes lit up when he saw this dish, he took a picture of it, and when he tasted it he said it was: "Delicious." We had him in our house for almost a year and have him over to dinner sometimes. He is brutally honest, so I was so happy this recipe turned out like it did. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
The broth tastes exactly like the broth at my take out restaurant. Thank you. However, I'm not liking the taste of the pork. I will use baby shrimp in my won ton wrappers next time. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This recipe is awesome. My family of six eat every bit, and I only get about 1 bowl for my lunch the next day. My only recommendation is extra broth just to give everything a little more room
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT!! I did my wonton filling with spicy tofu and follow the rest. Once the chicken broth was hot I just added everything and Saifun Bean Thread!!! OMG!! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJEANS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
awesome! We bought Wontons from our local H-Mart and have made this soup 3 times in the past 2 weeks. It's a nice light alternative to a traditional heavy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States