Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Wonderful soup! I will hold on to this recipe forever. I did omit the shrimp and snow peas and added more mushrooms. This soup honestly beat out any soup I have bought over the years. I will be making my wonton soup from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
so good. better than my take out place.. and so easy!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
YUM! I made this pretty much as written, except I used ground chicken instead of pork and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was missing flavor. The only flavor that stood out was the sesame . It didn't taste like authentic wonton. I did give it three stars because I think it may have promise with some tweaking. I saw alot of recipes with rice vinegar and ginger so maybe that is what was missing. Due to the amount of time involved I won't make this exact soup again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
So I gave this recipe 5 stars because my husband and kids loved it. I wasn't a fan, but I've never been a fan of wonton soup. I didn't use bok choy, or the shrimp. But I did add a can of those chopped baby corns. It was fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Oh My! This was good! I did substitutions based on what I had on hand. I didn't have the Ground Pork, but I did have bacon bits (don't laugh, it worked!!!), so I used 1/4 cup bacon (any more than that and it would have been too salty). In other recipes I saw on other sites, the broth was made using pork bones and shrimp shells, so I wrapped the bacon in cheese cloth and steeped it in the broth for 10 minutes. I threw my frozen shrimp in the broth to defrost and pulled it out after about 5 minutes. I also added 1 small knob of fresh ginger, sliced into 5 pieces, and let that steep for 45 minutes. The broth ended up having a full, rich complex flavor that is amazing. I then ran the bacon bits through my Magic Bullet to make the pieces less chewy and it gave it a great texture. I coarsley chopped the shrimp, put it in the green onion and bacon mixture, and kept everything else the same, except I didn't need to add salt due to the saltiness of the bacon. I found that I could barely fit 1/2 teaspoon of the mixture onto the wonton and still fold it without tearing. As a result, I ended up with 50 wontons!!! I also cooked the wonton's separate from the broth, then added them when done. This ended up being a phenomenal comfort food! Sure it took a while to make the wontons, but I sat and listened to good music while making them so it wasn't a chore! Thank you, Starry Night for a wonderful base that can even be modified to what's on hand. Now, back to my soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is VERY good. I tweak it by eliminating the ingredients we don't like, but that's just for personal preference. The filling is great, but be careful not to fill the wontons too full (like I did the first time). I'm making this again tomorrow with fried rice...makes a great meal and helps to use up some leftovers too! For my own info after making these many times now: I don't use mushrooms or shrimp. I add a few extra snow peas and sometimes a little extra bok choy. A 12 oz package of wonton wrappers only needs about .5 lb of pork, but I usually make a whole batch and freeze half for later. Do as someone suggested and heat the wontons first in plain water to keep my soup nice and clear. I only leave them in the water for ~30 seconds, then move them to the boiling broth. I also add a lot more broth, because I like my soup "soupy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Yum! I'm a pretty inexperienced cook and I had no trouble with this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I added carrots, mushrooms,beans. Dash of soya sauce & sesame oil. Added bought wontons and noodles from the asian market. So good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was amazing! I couldn't believe I made this myself! I used shitake mushrooms, and followed the advice of the most helpful review, and boiled my wontons separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States