Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this several times and just love it. I have frozen this before and it does well. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I have been asked for this recipe several times when I have shared some soup. This is definetly a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
used tofu instead of pork, and veg broth rather than chicken.. yum :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was very tasty. I substituted ground shrimp in the wontons instead of pork, but it still had full flavor. Better than I've had at any restaurant, and great reheated for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I actually like the other recipe for wontons on this site because of the shrimp; I think that the addition of shrimp makes the wonton taste so much better. Also adding a package of preserved mustard tubers makes it taste delicious. Some suggestions on how to make the wontons more authentic-looking: 1. Place 1 tsp. of the meat in the center of the wrapper, 2. Place water on the edges of the wrapper, 3. Fold the bottom of the wrapper to match the edges of the top of the wrapper to form a rectangle, 4. Fold the top part of the rectangle (the part that's not wrapping the filling that's stuck together) over the filling part, 5. Turn the wrapper over so that the folded part is folded upward in the back, 6. Bring the top 2 edges of the rectangle together, and use water to stick them to each other securely. It takes me roughly 1 hour to wrap 150 wontons, but for some it may be longer or shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Wonderful soup! I will hold on to this recipe forever. I did omit the shrimp and snow peas and added more mushrooms. This soup honestly beat out any soup I have bought over the years. I will be making my wonton soup from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
so good. better than my take out place.. and so easy!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
YUM! I made this pretty much as written, except I used ground chicken instead of pork and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was missing flavor. The only flavor that stood out was the sesame . It didn't taste like authentic wonton. I did give it three stars because I think it may have promise with some tweaking. I saw alot of recipes with rice vinegar and ginger so maybe that is what was missing. Due to the amount of time involved I won't make this exact soup again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
So I gave this recipe 5 stars because my husband and kids loved it. I wasn't a fan, but I've never been a fan of wonton soup. I didn't use bok choy, or the shrimp. But I did add a can of those chopped baby corns. It was fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Oh My! This was good! I did substitutions based on what I had on hand. I didn't have the Ground Pork, but I did have bacon bits (don't laugh, it worked!!!), so I used 1/4 cup bacon (any more than that and it would have been too salty). In other recipes I saw on other sites, the broth was made using pork bones and shrimp shells, so I wrapped the bacon in cheese cloth and steeped it in the broth for 10 minutes. I threw my frozen shrimp in the broth to defrost and pulled it out after about 5 minutes. I also added 1 small knob of fresh ginger, sliced into 5 pieces, and let that steep for 45 minutes. The broth ended up having a full, rich complex flavor that is amazing. I then ran the bacon bits through my Magic Bullet to make the pieces less chewy and it gave it a great texture. I coarsley chopped the shrimp, put it in the green onion and bacon mixture, and kept everything else the same, except I didn't need to add salt due to the saltiness of the bacon. I found that I could barely fit 1/2 teaspoon of the mixture onto the wonton and still fold it without tearing. As a result, I ended up with 50 wontons!!! I also cooked the wonton's separate from the broth, then added them when done. This ended up being a phenomenal comfort food! Sure it took a while to make the wontons, but I sat and listened to good music while making them so it wasn't a chore! Thank you, Starry Night for a wonderful base that can even be modified to what's on hand. Now, back to my soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States