Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Soo good, we loved it. Used a pork roast instead of ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were fantastic! I made just a few changes...I omitted the mushrooms becaue I didn't have them. In addition to the filling ingredients, I added about a tsp. of finely chopped fresh ginger, 1 tsp. brown sugar, and a tbs. of sherry. After making the wontons, I boiled them in plain H2O. I then heated up the chicken broth and added the bok choy. Right before we were ready to eat, I added the wontons back to the soup. I didn't add the shrimp, snow peas, extra soy or sesame oil. This recipe really takes little effort but produces a big tasty result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS soup! I left out the mushrooms, shrimp and snow peas as I didn't have any. This is the first time I made wontons so I had a little difficulty folding them. I'm still not sure if I did it right. I watched a video on "YouTube" for extra help. Because I had never cooked with bok choy, I wasn't even sure what it looked like. I asked the young man in the produce department and he helped me find it. I should have asked him, "What part do you cook?" LOL! The recipe says "torn into 2-inch pieces" so I used the leaves. I don't know if that was right either. I read some reviews for help and saw that some were cooking their wontons separate. I wasn't sure what to do. My thinking was that the sausage flavors would be lost in the water that you throw away. I stuck to the recipe and it turned out great. This soup was DELICIOUS! Thank you Starry Night for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using Morningstar Farms burger crumbles instead of pork (please note I let them thaw and then used them just like meat). I also didn't use shrimp. The soup was amazing. I'm making my second batch tonight. The flavoring is absolutely delicious. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this several times and just love it. I have frozen this before and it does well. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I have been asked for this recipe several times when I have shared some soup. This is definetly a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
used tofu instead of pork, and veg broth rather than chicken.. yum :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was very tasty. I substituted ground shrimp in the wontons instead of pork, but it still had full flavor. Better than I've had at any restaurant, and great reheated for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I actually like the other recipe for wontons on this site because of the shrimp; I think that the addition of shrimp makes the wonton taste so much better. Also adding a package of preserved mustard tubers makes it taste delicious. Some suggestions on how to make the wontons more authentic-looking: 1. Place 1 tsp. of the meat in the center of the wrapper, 2. Place water on the edges of the wrapper, 3. Fold the bottom of the wrapper to match the edges of the top of the wrapper to form a rectangle, 4. Fold the top part of the rectangle (the part that's not wrapping the filling that's stuck together) over the filling part, 5. Turn the wrapper over so that the folded part is folded upward in the back, 6. Bring the top 2 edges of the rectangle together, and use water to stick them to each other securely. It takes me roughly 1 hour to wrap 150 wontons, but for some it may be longer or shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Wonderful soup! I will hold on to this recipe forever. I did omit the shrimp and snow peas and added more mushrooms. This soup honestly beat out any soup I have bought over the years. I will be making my wonton soup from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
so good. better than my take out place.. and so easy!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States