Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Excellent! I love this soup, it's my new favorite! I did make a few changes due to what I had on hand: I used mild Italian sausage, casings removed. Therefor, I didn't use the egg or salt and pepper (they didn't need it, sausage is bound and seasoned already). This slightly changes the flavor of the wontons, and I think I will try it again using only the ground pork. I also halved the recipe, and further reduced the sesame oil, which I find very pungent. I can still taste it (I'm eating this as we speak) and enjoy it, but I think the full amount might be overpowering to me. As for assembling the wontons, here are some tips: there is a learning curve...1tbsp of filling was way too much to try to squeeze in there, I used a biggish tsp. and even then they are large to get in your mouth. Use VERY little water to moisten the edges, or they just slide around. Stop caring about trying to make them pretty shapes, and just do triangles if you're all thumbs like me. For those that aren't seafood lovers, leave out the shrimp entirely instead of just not adding it to your own bowl...I can certainly taste the shrimp in the broth (which I love!). I didn't have the peas, so I added extra greens from the bok choy. And extra green onions. Over all, this is a delightful dish, thanks for sharing! PS- thank you to the reviewer who advised boiling the wontons in their own pot...BUT if you do this step, do not leave them sitting in a wire colander...they stick, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
The wontons were great, BUT, the soup really needs something... I added a little ground ginger to both the wontons and the broth... it helped, but not enough to make this great. Just "pretty good", so I probably won't make it again since it took about 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
We have a favorite Chinese restaurant that we moved away from 8 years ago, and haven't found a good one since. We loved their wonton soup. I used to request it from my husband everytime I was sick. Well, this has got to be it! It is fabulous! The only thing different is they had sliced pork in theirs. That's it! The only thing I am going to try different next time, is to put the wontons in at the end so they don't over cook. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Sooooooooo good! I was afraid it would be bland. It wasn't, it was excellent! I cooked my pork mixture first. It didn't really specify and I had watched a few videos on, you tube, on how to wrap the won ton and they cooked it first, so I did too to be safe. I added water chestnuts for my husband because he loves them. Other then the water chestnuts, I did everything else by recipe and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I cooked the wontons seperate like the previous reviews said and added ginger in the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svdeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
One of my favorite recipes! Easy and fun to make and SO delicious :) It does yeild quite a few, and I live alone but it worked out nicely. I froze about 25% of the meat mixture and the left over wrappers (seperatly) and will pull them out when my mom comes to visit this weekend so she can enjoy it too! Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Soo good, we loved it. Used a pork roast instead of ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were fantastic! I made just a few changes...I omitted the mushrooms becaue I didn't have them. In addition to the filling ingredients, I added about a tsp. of finely chopped fresh ginger, 1 tsp. brown sugar, and a tbs. of sherry. After making the wontons, I boiled them in plain H2O. I then heated up the chicken broth and added the bok choy. Right before we were ready to eat, I added the wontons back to the soup. I didn't add the shrimp, snow peas, extra soy or sesame oil. This recipe really takes little effort but produces a big tasty result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS soup! I left out the mushrooms, shrimp and snow peas as I didn't have any. This is the first time I made wontons so I had a little difficulty folding them. I'm still not sure if I did it right. I watched a video on "YouTube" for extra help. Because I had never cooked with bok choy, I wasn't even sure what it looked like. I asked the young man in the produce department and he helped me find it. I should have asked him, "What part do you cook?" LOL! The recipe says "torn into 2-inch pieces" so I used the leaves. I don't know if that was right either. I read some reviews for help and saw that some were cooking their wontons separate. I wasn't sure what to do. My thinking was that the sausage flavors would be lost in the water that you throw away. I stuck to the recipe and it turned out great. This soup was DELICIOUS! Thank you Starry Night for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using Morningstar Farms burger crumbles instead of pork (please note I let them thaw and then used them just like meat). I also didn't use shrimp. The soup was amazing. I'm making my second batch tonight. The flavoring is absolutely delicious. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States