Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe!! DEFINITELY a keeper - the only alterations we made were pretty basic - we used 12 cups of broth rather than 8, and we had some leftover baby portabella mushrooms that we used, it called for 6, we had 9. It was wonderful...and we'll be making it again!! :) THANKS for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Wonderful, amazing, delicious soup! The filling made 48 wontons for me, definitely using less than a tablespoon of filling per wrapper (maybe more like 1.5 teaspoons), using a little less than one 14-ounce package of wonton wrappers. Served this for dinner with some steamed edamame. I made a couple of small changes too: (1) I left out the shrimp (my husband is allergic) and was still thrilled with the flavor. (2) I cooked the wontons separately in boiling water in batches, then when a batch was finished I just added it to the broth+vegetables, repeating this until all were cooked. (3) I found that 8 cups of broth wasn't enough for 8 servings of soup, since there were so many wontons and veggies, so I ended up just adding some extra broth until it was more like the wonton soup I'm used to. I probably added an additional 2-3 cups total. I know that seems like a lot, but the leftovers needed it especially, since the wrappers drink up some of the broth. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Delicious! Very easy too. I've made this twice now with only one modification. I added about 2 tbsp of ginger (the kind you can buy in a jar) because I really like the flavor. Just be sure to mind your cooking times. When it says "let the soup simmer for 2 more minutes" after the addition of the bok choy, mushrooms and shrimp they mean it. Don't do like I did the first time and think you can leave it simmering until dinner is ready! Be sure you take it off the heat after you add in the show peas and green onions or else the bok choy, green onions and snow peas will get all mushy. The soup will still be edible but not quite as tasty and it won't present quite as nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Amazing, and with the left over wontons I fried them as an appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
BEST EVER!!!! Delicious, my family asks me all the time for this wonton soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
!! Wonderful !! I halved recipe and only ended up making 8 wonton to go into the soup ... (4 each for hubby & I) ... outstanding flavor! Note to self: remember to a) make sure peas are in bite size portion and that the cook very quickly and b) cut the tails off shrimp (I forgot which made it awkard to eat). A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
AMAZING! Love all the veggies in the broth. I did boil the wontons separate and I added more broth than it said.. ohh and once you make the wonton, you can cook them up and make amazing pot stickers... I did this to two of them just to try it out... wish i would have done a few more.. lol But AMAZING easy soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
We loved this. Even making the wontons was easy, and the soup was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Sesame oil was a bad thought on this recipe. We were all so excited to make this being wonton soup is my family's favorite soup. The flavors were all wrong. This recipe winds up costing more that buying it from your local restaurant. I was extremely disappointed and we will not be modifying this recipe or making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This soup is EXCELLENT. I made some changes, but nothing significant except adding oyster sauce (1 tbsp). I used baby bok choy, oyster mushrooms, extra green onions (because I love the flavor). I added sliced water chestnuts, used vegetable broth and chicken broth and panco crumbs. I took the advice of another and boiled the wonton's separately. I can't rave enough about this soup! Thank you SOOO much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V Renée Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States