Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Amazing flavor. much better than what i can get at local restaurants. i added lots of mushrooms to mine and am soooo addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is my first try at wontons and I had mixed success with it but I'm giving it five stars because I'm pretty sure any problems I had were operator error and it was flat out delicious no matter the glitches. I first fried them as an appetizer with a Thai style dipping sauce. I stuffed the wontons as full as I thought I could and still seal them but after I removed them from the hot oil either the filling had shrunk or the wonton had expanded and there was a large pocket inside the wrapper that was only half full of filling. Still, we all loved them as an appetizer. I next made the soup and that's what I'll probably stick to in the future. Absolutely delicious. I added some fresh grated ginger, a little fish sauce, and a little more tamari to the broth. Once again I had a little issue with the wontons as they wanted to disintegrate before I was ready to serve. Maybe I cooked them too long? Still, I won't hesitate to make this again because the flavor combo of the cabbage, filling and seasonings was out of this world. I am considering just turning the filling into small meatballs, browning them and adding them to the broth along with some soba noodles next time. No matter, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Great soup, but a lot of work. I used sage sausage (on accident), and it turned out really yummy. I'll probably only be making it for really special occasions because of the time needed to fill all those wantons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe!! DEFINITELY a keeper - the only alterations we made were pretty basic - we used 12 cups of broth rather than 8, and we had some leftover baby portabella mushrooms that we used, it called for 6, we had 9. It was wonderful...and we'll be making it again!! :) THANKS for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Wonderful, amazing, delicious soup! The filling made 48 wontons for me, definitely using less than a tablespoon of filling per wrapper (maybe more like 1.5 teaspoons), using a little less than one 14-ounce package of wonton wrappers. Served this for dinner with some steamed edamame. I made a couple of small changes too: (1) I left out the shrimp (my husband is allergic) and was still thrilled with the flavor. (2) I cooked the wontons separately in boiling water in batches, then when a batch was finished I just added it to the broth+vegetables, repeating this until all were cooked. (3) I found that 8 cups of broth wasn't enough for 8 servings of soup, since there were so many wontons and veggies, so I ended up just adding some extra broth until it was more like the wonton soup I'm used to. I probably added an additional 2-3 cups total. I know that seems like a lot, but the leftovers needed it especially, since the wrappers drink up some of the broth. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Delicious! Very easy too. I've made this twice now with only one modification. I added about 2 tbsp of ginger (the kind you can buy in a jar) because I really like the flavor. Just be sure to mind your cooking times. When it says "let the soup simmer for 2 more minutes" after the addition of the bok choy, mushrooms and shrimp they mean it. Don't do like I did the first time and think you can leave it simmering until dinner is ready! Be sure you take it off the heat after you add in the show peas and green onions or else the bok choy, green onions and snow peas will get all mushy. The soup will still be edible but not quite as tasty and it won't present quite as nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Amazing, and with the left over wontons I fried them as an appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
BEST EVER!!!! Delicious, my family asks me all the time for this wonton soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
!! Wonderful !! I halved recipe and only ended up making 8 wonton to go into the soup ... (4 each for hubby & I) ... outstanding flavor! Note to self: remember to a) make sure peas are in bite size portion and that the cook very quickly and b) cut the tails off shrimp (I forgot which made it awkard to eat). A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
AMAZING! Love all the veggies in the broth. I did boil the wontons separate and I added more broth than it said.. ohh and once you make the wonton, you can cook them up and make amazing pot stickers... I did this to two of them just to try it out... wish i would have done a few more.. lol But AMAZING easy soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States