Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. I think it's kinda of a pain to make, but because it tastes so good I will make it again. My mother-in-law said she would like more broth and I do agree. I will make it with 12 cups of broth next time. Also, I halved the sesame oil, only because of my family. I personally love sesame oil! Will make again, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
It's so good and easy to make. I felt super creative making the wontons. my kids loved this soup and have requested it several times, Just follow as written. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
very bland, the snow peas were hard as rocks, and the only real flavor came from the wonton filling, which is bland too. I would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Loved making the wontons, didn't love the flavor. I'm thinking a little tweaking to my family's tastes won't be hard though, and we'll have to give this another try sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Delish! Used kale in place of the bok choy and didn't use the snow peas cause I forgot. Sesame oil is so delish! We added soy sauce cause we love salt. This is a very good soup. Takes a bit of work but if you have the time then it's worth it. I am lucky I have the time on my hands to make time consuming recipes. Thanks for a great recipe. I will put this on my menu in the winter months cause we live in AZ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I think this turned out fabulous.I would use less won tons though and add more water or broth.Be gentle with the cooked won tons which tear easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Perfect as is! You have to like the sesame oil or you are not going to like this recipe because the flavor definitely comes through. Next time I might throw some chopped water chestnuts in the pork mixture and then throw some bean sprouts on top just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Amazing flavor. much better than what i can get at local restaurants. i added lots of mushrooms to mine and am soooo addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is my first try at wontons and I had mixed success with it but I'm giving it five stars because I'm pretty sure any problems I had were operator error and it was flat out delicious no matter the glitches. I first fried them as an appetizer with a Thai style dipping sauce. I stuffed the wontons as full as I thought I could and still seal them but after I removed them from the hot oil either the filling had shrunk or the wonton had expanded and there was a large pocket inside the wrapper that was only half full of filling. Still, we all loved them as an appetizer. I next made the soup and that's what I'll probably stick to in the future. Absolutely delicious. I added some fresh grated ginger, a little fish sauce, and a little more tamari to the broth. Once again I had a little issue with the wontons as they wanted to disintegrate before I was ready to serve. Maybe I cooked them too long? Still, I won't hesitate to make this again because the flavor combo of the cabbage, filling and seasonings was out of this world. I am considering just turning the filling into small meatballs, browning them and adding them to the broth along with some soba noodles next time. No matter, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Great soup, but a lot of work. I used sage sausage (on accident), and it turned out really yummy. I'll probably only be making it for really special occasions because of the time needed to fill all those wantons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States