Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Dolly
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
here's what i did. i took the meat mixture and baked it in the oven like i would with meatloaf until no longer pink (but not entirely done), i was a bit leary putting raw meat in the wontons and having them cook for that little bit of time. i assembled the wontons like sandwiches instead of folding it over itself and that may have made it kind of "heavier" because once i boiled them in a seperate pot, they were almost falling apart when i scooped them out to put them into my soup. Luckily, only 1 fell apart so i was lucky they didnt ALL fall apart. We loved this soup indefinitely! what a difference from plain old chicken and dumplings :) aside from the wontons mishap, they were very flavorful and awesome! (btw, i only did 1/2 tea seasme oil, omitted the mushrooms and shrimp). will be making it again! thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Pretty delicious, and yes, it does yield quite a lot of soup! I changed a few things, including putting the shrimp inside the wontons with the ground pork, and I left out the egg and bread crumbs. I assume that those are there to keep the wonton mixture together, but it held well without them. Great flavour, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Pretty good. Cooked wontons separately and then added to soup. Add at very end otherwise they'll get overcooked. Even better, keep on side and let individuals add to their own broth. Mine got totally overcooked in the hot broth. The 30 min. prep time is a joke! It took FOREVER (for two of us!) to make 60 wontons! Also, wonton meat mixture could have used more spices as it was quite bland .. to the point that my husband complained. Thats why 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
A very tasty and comforting soup! I grew up eating wonton soup and I love chinese dumplings. I always use fresh ingredients and lots of freshly grated ginger. I love the ginger-y and garlic taste in my wontons and that is what I added. I always include chopped shiitake mushrooms, shrimp and water chestnuts to the meat mixture for added flavor and texture. I season with low-sodium soy sauce, sesame oil, Hawaiian sea salt and black pepper for taste (just eye-ball, never measuring). I omitted the bread crumbs. Once I place the meat filling onto the center of the wonton wrapper, I moistened the edges of wonton wrap with water and seal the edges. I boiled them in a pot of water until they floated to the top then set them aside while I heated up my 3 cups of chicken broth. I was only serving three people so I had to cut back on the servings amount. I added sliced char siu to my soup along with some (blanched) baby bok choy. Lastly, I garnished my soup with sprinkles of chopped green onions. This is a nice balance of flavors of the wonton, veggies and the hot chicken soup. We always enjoy this hearty, delicious and comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Made to recipe standards. Only made half of the wontons which seem to be enough for this recipe. Froze extra sausage to make into wontons next time. I didn't find their was tons like other reviews. With 5 adults we made this our main dish with bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. I think it's kinda of a pain to make, but because it tastes so good I will make it again. My mother-in-law said she would like more broth and I do agree. I will make it with 12 cups of broth next time. Also, I halved the sesame oil, only because of my family. I personally love sesame oil! Will make again, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
It's so good and easy to make. I felt super creative making the wontons. my kids loved this soup and have requested it several times, Just follow as written. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
very bland, the snow peas were hard as rocks, and the only real flavor came from the wonton filling, which is bland too. I would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Loved making the wontons, didn't love the flavor. I'm thinking a little tweaking to my family's tastes won't be hard though, and we'll have to give this another try sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Delish! Used kale in place of the bok choy and didn't use the snow peas cause I forgot. Sesame oil is so delish! We added soy sauce cause we love salt. This is a very good soup. Takes a bit of work but if you have the time then it's worth it. I am lucky I have the time on my hands to make time consuming recipes. Thanks for a great recipe. I will put this on my menu in the winter months cause we live in AZ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States