Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Great recipe! I grew up with my mother making wonton soup on cold days. One tip I can offer is boiling the wontons separately from the broth in just plain water, 3-5 min. The reason being, the wonton wrappers are dusted with flour and it can cloud the broth or slightly thicken it. Wonton broth is supposed to be clear and thin. After boiling the wontons strain and add to the soup. If you want a more filling meal you can add egg noodles (refrigerated section of asian market) to the dish for wonton noodle soup. Boil noodles separately as well then add to soup. A little more work but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
467 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. I altered the recipe a little b/c I didn't have all the ingredients, but it was still fantastic. This is also a wonderful base recipe, as you can add more vegetables or seasoning to get exactly what you want. The ONLY thing is, the recipe itself makes A LOT, and I would actually suggest halving it. oh, and if anyone is reluctant to try this b/c making wontons sounds difficult, its really SO easy. Thank you so much for such a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
From the author. I am so glad everyone is loving this recipe as our family does, the wontons are time consuming but well worth it. I probably should have made the recipe smaller but we love the leftovers here and I always make this much. Also, if you are going to freeze some, it's better to freeze the meat mixture leftovers separately before you make the wontons and then make the wontons fresh the next time you make it. I am also using a reviewers idea now and boiling the wontons separately, great idea! I also think I made an error in the recipe as the wontons never really sink, but they only take about 5 minutes to cook thoroughly. OchTamale97.. my very picky 5 year old LOVES this soup as well and it is so healthy, it's great for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Excellent! I love this soup, it's my new favorite! I did make a few changes due to what I had on hand: I used mild Italian sausage, casings removed. Therefor, I didn't use the egg or salt and pepper (they didn't need it, sausage is bound and seasoned already). This slightly changes the flavor of the wontons, and I think I will try it again using only the ground pork. I also halved the recipe, and further reduced the sesame oil, which I find very pungent. I can still taste it (I'm eating this as we speak) and enjoy it, but I think the full amount might be overpowering to me. As for assembling the wontons, here are some tips: there is a learning curve...1tbsp of filling was way too much to try to squeeze in there, I used a biggish tsp. and even then they are large to get in your mouth. Use VERY little water to moisten the edges, or they just slide around. Stop caring about trying to make them pretty shapes, and just do triangles if you're all thumbs like me. For those that aren't seafood lovers, leave out the shrimp entirely instead of just not adding it to your own bowl...I can certainly taste the shrimp in the broth (which I love!). I didn't have the peas, so I added extra greens from the bok choy. And extra green onions. Over all, this is a delightful dish, thanks for sharing! PS- thank you to the reviewer who advised boiling the wontons in their own pot...BUT if you do this step, do not leave them sitting in a wire colander...they stick, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using Morningstar Farms burger crumbles instead of pork (please note I let them thaw and then used them just like meat). I also didn't use shrimp. The soup was amazing. I'm making my second batch tonight. The flavoring is absolutely delicious. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Oh My! This was good! I did substitutions based on what I had on hand. I didn't have the Ground Pork, but I did have bacon bits (don't laugh, it worked!!!), so I used 1/4 cup bacon (any more than that and it would have been too salty). In other recipes I saw on other sites, the broth was made using pork bones and shrimp shells, so I wrapped the bacon in cheese cloth and steeped it in the broth for 10 minutes. I threw my frozen shrimp in the broth to defrost and pulled it out after about 5 minutes. I also added 1 small knob of fresh ginger, sliced into 5 pieces, and let that steep for 45 minutes. The broth ended up having a full, rich complex flavor that is amazing. I then ran the bacon bits through my Magic Bullet to make the pieces less chewy and it gave it a great texture. I coarsley chopped the shrimp, put it in the green onion and bacon mixture, and kept everything else the same, except I didn't need to add salt due to the saltiness of the bacon. I found that I could barely fit 1/2 teaspoon of the mixture onto the wonton and still fold it without tearing. As a result, I ended up with 50 wontons!!! I also cooked the wonton's separate from the broth, then added them when done. This ended up being a phenomenal comfort food! Sure it took a while to make the wontons, but I sat and listened to good music while making them so it wasn't a chore! Thank you, Starry Night for a wonderful base that can even be modified to what's on hand. Now, back to my soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This recipe was easy and amazing.My husband said it was the best won ton soup he's ever had and we live in a city with a lot of great authentic Chinese restaurants. That said I did make some changes. When making the won ton filling, I add the shrimp to the won ton instead of the broth. Just our preference and it didn't get lost in the soup. I also added some dried garlic to the filling. To the broth, I used both chicken and vegetable broth to add more flavour. I also added sliced ginger, carrots and broccoli. Next time I will add slices of BBQ pork. We also cooked separately some long noodles and added them to the bowls before adding the won ton soup. Another reviewer stated that this recipe made a lot of won tons and its true. I froze mine on parchment paper before putting them into a container. I now have them on hand to make another batch of soup quicker. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as written except I made a half recipe and it was perfect for two as a main course with a side of Chinese ribs. You can adjust it with different vegies but the recipe is a real keeper. MSO said it was better than we get at our favorite Chinese cafe. Thanks Starry Night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Sesame oil was a bad thought on this recipe. We were all so excited to make this being wonton soup is my family's favorite soup. The flavors were all wrong. This recipe winds up costing more that buying it from your local restaurant. I was extremely disappointed and we will not be modifying this recipe or making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was my virgin voyage in making homemade wontons and I'm thrilled to say that this recipe was a huge hit with my family. The pound of pork made more than enough filling so I froze what was left and will use it to make egg rolls next week. Took love2cook's advice and simmered the wontons separately from the soup. Great suggestion. Thank you Starry Night for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States