Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. I altered the recipe a little b/c I didn't have all the ingredients, but it was still fantastic. This is also a wonderful base recipe, as you can add more vegetables or seasoning to get exactly what you want. The ONLY thing is, the recipe itself makes A LOT, and I would actually suggest halving it. oh, and if anyone is reluctant to try this b/c making wontons sounds difficult, its really SO easy. Thank you so much for such a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as written except I made a half recipe and it was perfect for two as a main course with a side of Chinese ribs. You can adjust it with different vegies but the recipe is a real keeper. MSO said it was better than we get at our favorite Chinese cafe. Thanks Starry Night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Great recipe! I grew up with my mother making wonton soup on cold days. One tip I can offer is boiling the wontons separately from the broth in just plain water, 3-5 min. The reason being, the wonton wrappers are dusted with flour and it can cloud the broth or slightly thicken it. Wonton broth is supposed to be clear and thin. After boiling the wontons strain and add to the soup. If you want a more filling meal you can add egg noodles (refrigerated section of asian market) to the dish for wonton noodle soup. Boil noodles separately as well then add to soup. A little more work but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Easy to make and super tasty. My husband orders wonton soup with every take out chinese meal and said this had the best flavor. Makes a lot so serve a crowd or be prepared to eat it again for lunch and lunch and lunch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was my virgin voyage in making homemade wontons and I'm thrilled to say that this recipe was a huge hit with my family. The pound of pork made more than enough filling so I froze what was left and will use it to make egg rolls next week. Took love2cook's advice and simmered the wontons separately from the soup. Great suggestion. Thank you Starry Night for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
this was really really good. i subbed DRIED shitake mushrooms for fresh. they are alot stronger and add much deeper flavour to the chicken broth so you can add a little less if you go this route. also, i used napa/chinese cabbage instead of bok choy. it turned out really really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was fantastic and a definite keeper!! The only change we made was that we used chicken instead of shrimp. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This soup is amazing. Everyone in my family loved the soup and even phoned their friends to tell them about how good it was =)Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was amazing. I used chicken cubes and the paste to make the broth to my taste. I enjoy saving money. I used probally 12 cups of water by the time it was done. The wontons turned out very delicious. Not hard to make at all just time consuming. I also used dried shitake mushrooms which gave it more of that deep earthy taste, I really was not a fan of that. I will use traditional mushrooms next time. I also used shrimp that made it taste yum!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
So awesome! I diced up spinach leaves and shredded carrot & boiled them in with the soup, I used just a few cans of broth, but then the cubes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura the Potter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States