Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was a great soup. It's important to note that this is a very thick soup. The filling as made fills at least 20 wontons and we got 30 out of it. To compensate, we added 1 more cup of chicken broth and doubled the onions and green onions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Super easy and tastes great. I recommend reducing the sesame oil as a dash goes a long way. Also, added garlic and onion salt for more flavor. To the broth, I doubled the peas and bok choy and added water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Amazing! I also boiled my wontons in water, and added some finely chopped water chestnuts for a nice little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I really liked the wontons but not the broth. I like sesame oil a lot but for me, it was too much. Next time I will omit it from the broth and instead work with a combination of fish sauce, majji, oyster sauce and a touch of sweetner..perhaps a splash of soy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were excellent. Makes a lot of wontons. I froze the leftovers as suggested..wax paper..then put in zip lock bag. I chopped up some water chestnuts for the filling and added extra plus frozen peas to the broth. I too boiled the wontons in water first then added the amount I wanted, to the simmering broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Wow!! Yummy!!! I added carrot, ginger, and a lot more broth. Also took quite a bit longer to do the wontons for me, but it seemed like the wonton wrappers that I bought were very little (about 2.5" by 2.5" box) so they held less meat in each one. If I wasn't the one that made it, I would have sworn it came from a restaurant! Will make again and again! (I also had way too many wontons so I left a bunch out and fried them the next day as an appetizer. Delicious!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not only was this the most delicious wonton soup I have ever eaten, it was alot of fun making it. I boiled the wontons in water prior to putting them in the broth as previous reviews stated. I am looking forward to making the soup again. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Pine Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe was phenomenal! So easy and it was a huge hit. Before I heated up the chicken stock, I sautéed 1 tbsp each of minced garlic and ginger in 1 tbsp vegetable oil and a splash of sesame oil, then added 1/4 cup thinly sliced scallions. Then I just let the broth simmer for 30-40 minutes or so. And I used 12 cups chicken broth instead of 8, because I also cooked noodles separately, and then had guests add them to their bowls before ladling the soup in. I also agree w/ other reviewers that the recipe made a ton of wontons - I definitely froze some of the wontons on a sheet pan then put them in a ziploc bag. Can't wait to make this again, it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My son introduced me to allrecipes.com. I've always wanted to make my own wonton soup! Using this recipe as a guideline, I omitted the shrimp and mushrooms ( not my idea!) and added some ginger and some garlic to the broth. Also added some slivers of carrot. Oh, and I added mini baby bok choy, instead of the medium head of bok choy. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Amazing!! I made a few changes: for the wontons- I only used half the amount of pork and green onions, added savoy cabbage (a few handfuls as I did not have bok coy), and omitted the mushrooms, snow peas and shrimp (I served it with coconut shrimp...); for the broth, I boiled the chicken broth with a few splashes of soy sauce, sesame oil, pepper, garlic, and shrimp tail shells. The wontons are easy to make - they are time consuming but that's to be expected; I folded a few to save time and that method worked fine too. One additional change I made was to remove the wontons after cooking them and to stream in two beaten eggs- I love egg drop soup and with they are generally not combined, it turned out great! If you want to use all the pork mixture, I'd recommend making more broth - I used 12 cups of broth to 1/4 of the pork mixture. Overall, this is a keeper and so much better than most of the take-out places near me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States