Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were excellent. Makes a lot of wontons. I froze the leftovers as suggested..wax paper..then put in zip lock bag. I chopped up some water chestnuts for the filling and added extra plus frozen peas to the broth. I too boiled the wontons in water first then added the amount I wanted, to the simmering broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Wow!! Yummy!!! I added carrot, ginger, and a lot more broth. Also took quite a bit longer to do the wontons for me, but it seemed like the wonton wrappers that I bought were very little (about 2.5" by 2.5" box) so they held less meat in each one. If I wasn't the one that made it, I would have sworn it came from a restaurant! Will make again and again! (I also had way too many wontons so I left a bunch out and fried them the next day as an appetizer. Delicious!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not only was this the most delicious wonton soup I have ever eaten, it was alot of fun making it. I boiled the wontons in water prior to putting them in the broth as previous reviews stated. I am looking forward to making the soup again. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Pine Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe was phenomenal! So easy and it was a huge hit. Before I heated up the chicken stock, I sautéed 1 tbsp each of minced garlic and ginger in 1 tbsp vegetable oil and a splash of sesame oil, then added 1/4 cup thinly sliced scallions. Then I just let the broth simmer for 30-40 minutes or so. And I used 12 cups chicken broth instead of 8, because I also cooked noodles separately, and then had guests add them to their bowls before ladling the soup in. I also agree w/ other reviewers that the recipe made a ton of wontons - I definitely froze some of the wontons on a sheet pan then put them in a ziploc bag. Can't wait to make this again, it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My son introduced me to allrecipes.com. I've always wanted to make my own wonton soup! Using this recipe as a guideline, I omitted the shrimp and mushrooms ( not my idea!) and added some ginger and some garlic to the broth. Also added some slivers of carrot. Oh, and I added mini baby bok choy, instead of the medium head of bok choy. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Amazing!! I made a few changes: for the wontons- I only used half the amount of pork and green onions, added savoy cabbage (a few handfuls as I did not have bok coy), and omitted the mushrooms, snow peas and shrimp (I served it with coconut shrimp...); for the broth, I boiled the chicken broth with a few splashes of soy sauce, sesame oil, pepper, garlic, and shrimp tail shells. The wontons are easy to make - they are time consuming but that's to be expected; I folded a few to save time and that method worked fine too. One additional change I made was to remove the wontons after cooking them and to stream in two beaten eggs- I love egg drop soup and with they are generally not combined, it turned out great! If you want to use all the pork mixture, I'd recommend making more broth - I used 12 cups of broth to 1/4 of the pork mixture. Overall, this is a keeper and so much better than most of the take-out places near me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Made this for the first time today and it is awesome! Followed another reviewers advise and boiled wontons in seperate boiling water then added them to the soup. It kept brother clear and pretty and not murky from the flour of the wonton wrapper. Other than that I changed nothing and it turned out great (and I'm usually a tweaker). Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Did not add shrimp and could not find any snow peas, but I don't think it could have been any better. Just ate some for breakfast. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was the first time I tried making homemade won ton soup... it turned out great. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
yummy! Easy to make and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States