Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Amazing!! I made a few changes: for the wontons- I only used half the amount of pork and green onions, added savoy cabbage (a few handfuls as I did not have bok coy), and omitted the mushrooms, snow peas and shrimp (I served it with coconut shrimp...); for the broth, I boiled the chicken broth with a few splashes of soy sauce, sesame oil, pepper, garlic, and shrimp tail shells. The wontons are easy to make - they are time consuming but that's to be expected; I folded a few to save time and that method worked fine too. One additional change I made was to remove the wontons after cooking them and to stream in two beaten eggs- I love egg drop soup and with they are generally not combined, it turned out great! If you want to use all the pork mixture, I'd recommend making more broth - I used 12 cups of broth to 1/4 of the pork mixture. Overall, this is a keeper and so much better than most of the take-out places near me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Made this for the first time today and it is awesome! Followed another reviewers advise and boiled wontons in seperate boiling water then added them to the soup. It kept brother clear and pretty and not murky from the flour of the wonton wrapper. Other than that I changed nothing and it turned out great (and I'm usually a tweaker). Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Did not add shrimp and could not find any snow peas, but I don't think it could have been any better. Just ate some for breakfast. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was the first time I tried making homemade won ton soup... it turned out great. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
yummy! Easy to make and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Amazing! I added some fresh ginger and garlic to the wontons and used 4 cups of mushroom broth and 4 cups of chicken broth. Don't worry about how the wontons look because once they go in the soup all the imperfections go away. This is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was okay. No wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Perfect! We love this recipe as is! I do use less than a tablespoon of filling in each wrap otherwise I can't get them closed. Makes for twice the wontons but that my family's favorite part : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Amazing!!!! It tasted like I had ordered it from my fav resturant. A must have is the sesame oil added to each serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soquel
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made it! I added ginger, carrots,mushroom, and watwer chesnuts to the pork mixture.. I also added oyster sauce to both the mixture and broth... I also included a bag of stir fry veggies (carrot, broccoli, snow peas)And used Napa Cabbage instead of bok choy.. I had alot of fun with this recipe and loved it!! I think if I hadnt added a few things the won tons would have been a lil bland.. But seriously I bet even as is it was delicious! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soquel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States