Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT!! I did my wonton filling with spicy tofu and follow the rest. Once the chicken broth was hot I just added everything and Saifun Bean Thread!!! OMG!! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJEANS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
awesome! We bought Wontons from our local H-Mart and have made this soup 3 times in the past 2 weeks. It's a nice light alternative to a traditional heavy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was a great soup. It's important to note that this is a very thick soup. The filling as made fills at least 20 wontons and we got 30 out of it. To compensate, we added 1 more cup of chicken broth and doubled the onions and green onions..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Super easy and tastes great. I recommend reducing the sesame oil as a dash goes a long way. Also, added garlic and onion salt for more flavor. To the broth, I doubled the peas and bok choy and added water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Amazing! I also boiled my wontons in water, and added some finely chopped water chestnuts for a nice little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I really liked the wontons but not the broth. I like sesame oil a lot but for me, it was too much. Next time I will omit it from the broth and instead work with a combination of fish sauce, majji, oyster sauce and a touch of sweetner..perhaps a splash of soy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were excellent. Makes a lot of wontons. I froze the leftovers as suggested..wax paper..then put in zip lock bag. I chopped up some water chestnuts for the filling and added extra plus frozen peas to the broth. I too boiled the wontons in water first then added the amount I wanted, to the simmering broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Wow!! Yummy!!! I added carrot, ginger, and a lot more broth. Also took quite a bit longer to do the wontons for me, but it seemed like the wonton wrappers that I bought were very little (about 2.5" by 2.5" box) so they held less meat in each one. If I wasn't the one that made it, I would have sworn it came from a restaurant! Will make again and again! (I also had way too many wontons so I left a bunch out and fried them the next day as an appetizer. Delicious!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not only was this the most delicious wonton soup I have ever eaten, it was alot of fun making it. I boiled the wontons in water prior to putting them in the broth as previous reviews stated. I am looking forward to making the soup again. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Pine Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe was phenomenal! So easy and it was a huge hit. Before I heated up the chicken stock, I sautéed 1 tbsp each of minced garlic and ginger in 1 tbsp vegetable oil and a splash of sesame oil, then added 1/4 cup thinly sliced scallions. Then I just let the broth simmer for 30-40 minutes or so. And I used 12 cups chicken broth instead of 8, because I also cooked noodles separately, and then had guests add them to their bowls before ladling the soup in. I also agree w/ other reviewers that the recipe made a ton of wontons - I definitely froze some of the wontons on a sheet pan then put them in a ziploc bag. Can't wait to make this again, it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States