Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I really liked this. I always wanted to make my own because the soup from the stores are VERY salty. However, I did make one change. Instead of JUST chicken broth, I added about 2 tablespoons of MISO paste. Gave it a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVORY
Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Awesome recipe! My friends and family think I'm some kind of culinary Guru because of this recipe! I didn't put mushrooms (girlfriend hates them) and no shrimp (I'm allergic) other than that I only changed the ground pepper to course ground. I have made this five or six times and only have one piece of advise. Get help wrapping the won tons. It takes forever to do a double batch when it's just you. Again awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
LOVED this soup!! My husband and kids loved it as well. I will for sure make this soup again.. it's worth the time to make the dumplings! I did add a little more broth and used 4 cups of my homeade broth I had in the freezer. I did not add the shrimp as I made this to go with my lettuce wraps and chicken satay. I can't wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
We've made this recipe many times. The wontons are a bit time consuming, but it cooks up quickly after the initial hands-on portion and it is well worth the effort. I almost always replace the ground pork with sausage, and we tend to leave out the bok choy and snow peas. The wontons are excellent hot, or even as cold leftovers. I'm about to whip some up right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
One of the best recipes of any kind I've pulled off this site, and I've tried a lot of them. I couldn't get ground pork so I used ground chicken. This will be a regular on our menu. It did make a lot of wontons so I've freezing some for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard A. Ramirez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I have been searching for a good wonton soup that tastes similar to an authentic wonton soup you would get at the Chinese food store, AND I FOUND it!! Thank you so much for this delicious recipe!!! I did make several changes, only b/c I didn't have certain items on hand. I omitted sesame oil, snow peas & shrimp altogether, AND THIS RECIPE STILL TURNED OUT AMAZING!!! Will never buy take out wonton soup ever again. Thank you Starry Night for sharing this recipe with the world :0).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
this was delicious, I did make a few changes though, I omitted the sesame oil, added a few tsps. of worchestershire sauce to the broth, and to the filling I added a tsp. of minced ginger and about 2 tbsp. of brown sugar. (combining the recipe with another one) I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Like the recipe submitter, I'm also not one to measure things, so I used my own amounts and added a little ginger, garlic powder and soy sauce to the chicken broth. Since I used chicken base instead of broth (which results in a cloudy broth) it likely wouldn't have mattered had I just went ahead and boiled the wontons in the broth (I boiled the wontons in water per popular review advice). I used slivered cabbage in lieu of bok choy and omitted the shrimp. It was flavorful and I'll definitely be making this again. Next time, I will decrease the sesame oil a bit and add more garlic, but overall, a very "tweakable" recipe, which is just up my alley. However, I did notice this recipe is nearly identical to the Nasoya brand wonton wrappers, so I found myself looking at the AR specifications and also looking at the directions on the Nasoya package. No matter, it's still good. My 4 1/2 DD and I are HUGE fans of this soup. DH....not so much. I will freeze the leftover pork filling and the wontons, but separately so I'll be ready for another batch the next time the craving arises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States