Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Oh My! This was good! I did substitutions based on what I had on hand. I didn't have the Ground Pork, but I did have bacon bits (don't laugh, it worked!!!), so I used 1/4 cup bacon (any more than that and it would have been too salty). In other recipes I saw on other sites, the broth was made using pork bones and shrimp shells, so I wrapped the bacon in cheese cloth and steeped it in the broth for 10 minutes. I threw my frozen shrimp in the broth to defrost and pulled it out after about 5 minutes. I also added 1 small knob of fresh ginger, sliced into 5 pieces, and let that steep for 45 minutes. The broth ended up having a full, rich complex flavor that is amazing. I then ran the bacon bits through my Magic Bullet to make the pieces less chewy and it gave it a great texture. I coarsley chopped the shrimp, put it in the green onion and bacon mixture, and kept everything else the same, except I didn't need to add salt due to the saltiness of the bacon. I found that I could barely fit 1/2 teaspoon of the mixture onto the wonton and still fold it without tearing. As a result, I ended up with 50 wontons!!! I also cooked the wonton's separate from the broth, then added them when done. This ended up being a phenomenal comfort food! Sure it took a while to make the wontons, but I sat and listened to good music while making them so it wasn't a chore! Thank you, Starry Night for a wonderful base that can even be modified to what's on hand. Now, back to my soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is VERY good. I tweak it by eliminating the ingredients we don't like, but that's just for personal preference. The filling is great, but be careful not to fill the wontons too full (like I did the first time). I'm making this again tomorrow with fried rice...makes a great meal and helps to use up some leftovers too! For my own info after making these many times now: I don't use mushrooms or shrimp. I add a few extra snow peas and sometimes a little extra bok choy. A 12 oz package of wonton wrappers only needs about .5 lb of pork, but I usually make a whole batch and freeze half for later. Do as someone suggested and heat the wontons first in plain water to keep my soup nice and clear. I only leave them in the water for ~30 seconds, then move them to the boiling broth. I also add a lot more broth, because I like my soup "soupy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Yum! I'm a pretty inexperienced cook and I had no trouble with this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I added carrots, mushrooms,beans. Dash of soya sauce & sesame oil. Added bought wontons and noodles from the asian market. So good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was amazing! I couldn't believe I made this myself! I used shitake mushrooms, and followed the advice of the most helpful review, and boiled my wontons separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
The wontons were wonderful and the shrimp were also excellent in it. The only thing I would change is to add the bok choy with the snow peas at the very end instead of before hand. I like the bok choy for the crunch. And also...the soup seemed to taste better the next day. So for you busy people out there this is a good soup to make on a rainy sunday and to eat during your busy work week. Wonton wrappers are in the produce section btw...it took me a couple grocery stores to figure that out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe is SO yummy. Better than at a restaurant. The only thing we changed was to use a cuisnart to blend the mix a little finer. Thank you so much for sharing. We've had it twice in two days !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The only change I made was to use ground turkey instead of pork. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I've made this several times exactly as stated minus the optional shrimp. It is soooooo good. Now I make it using half chicken broth and half wonton soup broth that I purchase from the asian market. It comes in powder form in a packet. My DH says this is better wonton soup than the restaurants. I'd have to agree with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was amazing! Wontons are a little work, but so worth it!! I added some sliced carrots and a kaffir lime leaf (sold by Epicure). Even a very picky 5 year old ate the wontons!! Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States