Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
We have a favorite Chinese restaurant that we moved away from 8 years ago, and haven't found a good one since. We loved their wonton soup. I used to request it from my husband everytime I was sick. Well, this has got to be it! It is fabulous! The only thing different is they had sliced pork in theirs. That's it! The only thing I am going to try different next time, is to put the wontons in at the end so they don't over cook. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Sooooooooo good! I was afraid it would be bland. It wasn't, it was excellent! I cooked my pork mixture first. It didn't really specify and I had watched a few videos on, you tube, on how to wrap the won ton and they cooked it first, so I did too to be safe. I added water chestnuts for my husband because he loves them. Other then the water chestnuts, I did everything else by recipe and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I cooked the wontons seperate like the previous reviews said and added ginger in the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svdeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
One of my favorite recipes! Easy and fun to make and SO delicious :) It does yeild quite a few, and I live alone but it worked out nicely. I froze about 25% of the meat mixture and the left over wrappers (seperatly) and will pull them out when my mom comes to visit this weekend so she can enjoy it too! Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Soo good, we loved it. Used a pork roast instead of ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were fantastic! I made just a few changes...I omitted the mushrooms becaue I didn't have them. In addition to the filling ingredients, I added about a tsp. of finely chopped fresh ginger, 1 tsp. brown sugar, and a tbs. of sherry. After making the wontons, I boiled them in plain H2O. I then heated up the chicken broth and added the bok choy. Right before we were ready to eat, I added the wontons back to the soup. I didn't add the shrimp, snow peas, extra soy or sesame oil. This recipe really takes little effort but produces a big tasty result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS soup! I left out the mushrooms, shrimp and snow peas as I didn't have any. This is the first time I made wontons so I had a little difficulty folding them. I'm still not sure if I did it right. I watched a video on "YouTube" for extra help. Because I had never cooked with bok choy, I wasn't even sure what it looked like. I asked the young man in the produce department and he helped me find it. I should have asked him, "What part do you cook?" LOL! The recipe says "torn into 2-inch pieces" so I used the leaves. I don't know if that was right either. I read some reviews for help and saw that some were cooking their wontons separate. I wasn't sure what to do. My thinking was that the sausage flavors would be lost in the water that you throw away. I stuck to the recipe and it turned out great. This soup was DELICIOUS! Thank you Starry Night for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using Morningstar Farms burger crumbles instead of pork (please note I let them thaw and then used them just like meat). I also didn't use shrimp. The soup was amazing. I'm making my second batch tonight. The flavoring is absolutely delicious. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this several times and just love it. I have frozen this before and it does well. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I have been asked for this recipe several times when I have shared some soup. This is definetly a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
used tofu instead of pork, and veg broth rather than chicken.. yum :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States