Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using Morningstar Farms burger crumbles instead of pork (please note I let them thaw and then used them just like meat). I also didn't use shrimp. The soup was amazing. I'm making my second batch tonight. The flavoring is absolutely delicious. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this several times and just love it. I have frozen this before and it does well. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I have been asked for this recipe several times when I have shared some soup. This is definetly a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
used tofu instead of pork, and veg broth rather than chicken.. yum :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was very tasty. I substituted ground shrimp in the wontons instead of pork, but it still had full flavor. Better than I've had at any restaurant, and great reheated for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I actually like the other recipe for wontons on this site because of the shrimp; I think that the addition of shrimp makes the wonton taste so much better. Also adding a package of preserved mustard tubers makes it taste delicious. Some suggestions on how to make the wontons more authentic-looking: 1. Place 1 tsp. of the meat in the center of the wrapper, 2. Place water on the edges of the wrapper, 3. Fold the bottom of the wrapper to match the edges of the top of the wrapper to form a rectangle, 4. Fold the top part of the rectangle (the part that's not wrapping the filling that's stuck together) over the filling part, 5. Turn the wrapper over so that the folded part is folded upward in the back, 6. Bring the top 2 edges of the rectangle together, and use water to stick them to each other securely. It takes me roughly 1 hour to wrap 150 wontons, but for some it may be longer or shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Wonderful soup! I will hold on to this recipe forever. I did omit the shrimp and snow peas and added more mushrooms. This soup honestly beat out any soup I have bought over the years. I will be making my wonton soup from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
so good. better than my take out place.. and so easy!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
YUM! I made this pretty much as written, except I used ground chicken instead of pork and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was missing flavor. The only flavor that stood out was the sesame . It didn't taste like authentic wonton. I did give it three stars because I think it may have promise with some tweaking. I saw alot of recipes with rice vinegar and ginger so maybe that is what was missing. Due to the amount of time involved I won't make this exact soup again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
So I gave this recipe 5 stars because my husband and kids loved it. I wasn't a fan, but I've never been a fan of wonton soup. I didn't use bok choy, or the shrimp. But I did add a can of those chopped baby corns. It was fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States