Homemade Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Awesome recipe! I did leave out the bok choy and the shrimp and peas and it was still amazing. I also cut back the sesame oil significantly because I agree with another reviewer who stated that it can be overpowering. It did make a large batch of filling so I separated the remaining filling into 3 separate portions and put it in the freezer for another day. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
the BEST wonton soup i've had. Better than the chinese take-outs! Definitely a keeper. I recommend adding a cup or 2 of chicken broth coz the wontons like any pasta would absorb some of the broth after it has been cooked. I like my soup to be soupy than thick. LOVE LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLARISSAMAE09

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Our family LOVES this soup. The only thing I do differently is fry the wontons in sesame oil for a few minutes before adding them to the broth - also I omit the shrimp. The wontons are a little time consuming but all other steps are very easy. :) Thank you for sharing...this is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenBen85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I wanted to make it simple, so i didn't use the veggies (except green onion) and shrimp. It's still so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dolly
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
here's what i did. i took the meat mixture and baked it in the oven like i would with meatloaf until no longer pink (but not entirely done), i was a bit leary putting raw meat in the wontons and having them cook for that little bit of time. i assembled the wontons like sandwiches instead of folding it over itself and that may have made it kind of "heavier" because once i boiled them in a seperate pot, they were almost falling apart when i scooped them out to put them into my soup. Luckily, only 1 fell apart so i was lucky they didnt ALL fall apart. We loved this soup indefinitely! what a difference from plain old chicken and dumplings :) aside from the wontons mishap, they were very flavorful and awesome! (btw, i only did 1/2 tea seasme oil, omitted the mushrooms and shrimp). will be making it again! thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Pretty delicious, and yes, it does yield quite a lot of soup! I changed a few things, including putting the shrimp inside the wontons with the ground pork, and I left out the egg and bread crumbs. I assume that those are there to keep the wonton mixture together, but it held well without them. Great flavour, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Pretty good. Cooked wontons separately and then added to soup. Add at very end otherwise they'll get overcooked. Even better, keep on side and let individuals add to their own broth. Mine got totally overcooked in the hot broth. The 30 min. prep time is a joke! It took FOREVER (for two of us!) to make 60 wontons! Also, wonton meat mixture could have used more spices as it was quite bland .. to the point that my husband complained. Thats why 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
A very tasty and comforting soup! I grew up eating wonton soup and I love chinese dumplings. I always use fresh ingredients and lots of freshly grated ginger. I love the ginger-y and garlic taste in my wontons and that is what I added. I always include chopped shiitake mushrooms, shrimp and water chestnuts to the meat mixture for added flavor and texture. I season with low-sodium soy sauce, sesame oil, Hawaiian sea salt and black pepper for taste (just eye-ball, never measuring). I omitted the bread crumbs. Once I place the meat filling onto the center of the wonton wrapper, I moistened the edges of wonton wrap with water and seal the edges. I boiled them in a pot of water until they floated to the top then set them aside while I heated up my 3 cups of chicken broth. I was only serving three people so I had to cut back on the servings amount. I added sliced char siu to my soup along with some (blanched) baby bok choy. Lastly, I garnished my soup with sprinkles of chopped green onions. This is a nice balance of flavors of the wonton, veggies and the hot chicken soup. We always enjoy this hearty, delicious and comforting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Made to recipe standards. Only made half of the wontons which seem to be enough for this recipe. Froze extra sausage to make into wontons next time. I didn't find their was tons like other reviews. With 5 adults we made this our main dish with bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. I think it's kinda of a pain to make, but because it tastes so good I will make it again. My mother-in-law said she would like more broth and I do agree. I will make it with 12 cups of broth next time. Also, I halved the sesame oil, only because of my family. I personally love sesame oil! Will make again, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States