Homemade Wonderful Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
Easy bread. I don't have a bread machine so used the allrecipes site advice on coverting bread machine recipes to regular methods. (You will find it under baking advice.) Definately need to up the water by 1/4 cup and I like a sweeter bread so upped the sugar to 1/3 cup. I also used dry buttermilk powder instead of just dry milk. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I love this recipe! I have used it over and over again, and it is always a hit. I prefer to bake it in the oven rather than in the machine, because the top rises too much for my bread machine. Most of the time I sub 1 c. whole wheat flour for the white. I have made cinnamon raisin bread: add 1 tablespoon cinnamon, more sugar and some raisins. I have made garlic bread: add a couple of minced garlic cloves and some italian seasoning. This recipe makes great italian breadsticks, just roll it out, twist and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
This is probably one of the best bread recipes I have ever made. It was a great big hit with my family. I made one loaf on Saturday and we ate the whole loaf for dinner. I made another loaf on Sunday and we ate the whole loaf again. I felt it was very easy to make and turned out very tender with a wonderful flavor. I did not proof the yeast before I made the bread and it did not have a strong yeast flavor. I'm positive I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
Great bread. I didn't have dry milk powder so I just used warm milk, which worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This is my favourite white bread. It is so simple and delicious and my guests just love it. I don't proof the yeast first and it tastes just fine using bread machine yeast. I use 1 1/2 cups of water instead of 1 1/4 total combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Great recipe!! I read the previous reviews and followed their suggestions ie: didn't proof the yeast and used 1 1/2 cups of water. The loaf rose up to the top of the baking window and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Simply the best machine made white bread we have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I used seasoned potato flakes will gave the bread extra flavoring.. it was my husband's favorite of 10 breads that I've recently tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This bread is fantastic! I mix it up in the bread machine and then bake it in my oven and get 2 perfect loaves. My 3 kids(ages 13, 10 and 6) prefer this bread over store bought and that is saying something! I will never have to buy bread again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
My family really liked this bread better than all the rest I've tried. But I had to was a lot more water than was called for. I probably used a 1 more cup of water. It was gone in 1 meal. The whole 2 pound loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States