Homemade Wonderful Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My daughter is allergic to dairy, so I modified the recipe... it is wonderful! I substituted better than milk rice powder for the dry milk, and used a non-dairy margarine. This is the only bread recipe I have found that tasted like real bread for my daughter. I use the bread machine, just because I don't have time to bake bread every day otherwise. This is a keeper, truly a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This turned out great. It did touch the top of my bread machine though. I used bread machine yeast without the early start & I used 1 1/2 cup of water as suggested by other reviewers. I used the light crust setting & I'm glad I did because it was plenty dark.Very soft & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Busk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Richfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Excellent bread, very easy to make and consistent. It also is a wonderful base for other variations, as an example, I throw in a 8 oz container of peach yogurt and replace the liquid with peach nectar for an excellent peach bread. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My first time ever making homemade bread, and it turned out delicious. I proofed the yeast till it was foamy, and followed all directions exactly, except for the potato flakes. I didn't have any so I left them out. No breadmaker, just used the oven. The bread was great. Since I rarely cook, my relatives almost didn't believe I'd done it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is only my 3rd successful loaf of bread out of 6 using other recipes after I stopped using my 15 yr. old bread machine. I don't miss the big hole in one end from the mixing paddle. However, I now use a KitchenAid Pro stand mixer with a spiral dough hook followed by a little hand kneading before rising. IMO this is the absolute best yeast bread recipe I've tried. The results: a full high crown, flavorful, light and fluffy on par with store bought varieties and much better than the spongy crusts with the bread machine. I did substitute 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 tsps of instant yeast rather than 2 1/2 tsps of active dry Yeast. I used bread flour rather than all-purpose. I also did a quick--5 minute--luke warm proofing in the mixing bowl first to give the instant yeast a head start. I didn't change any of the other ingredients or water amounts. This recipe is a keeper! A big THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I love this recipe! I have used it over and over again, and it is always a hit. I prefer to bake it in the oven rather than in the machine, because the top rises too much for my bread machine. Most of the time I sub 1 c. whole wheat flour for the white. I have made cinnamon raisin bread: add 1 tablespoon cinnamon, more sugar and some raisins. I have made garlic bread: add a couple of minced garlic cloves and some italian seasoning. This recipe makes great italian breadsticks, just roll it out, twist and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
THis was good, but I like the recipe that came w/ my bread machine better. Since no one was eating it, I made french toast out of it which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
to dense. needs more water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HACOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Arrowbear Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was my most successful bread so far. I only used the dough cycle and baked mine in a loaf pan in the oven (after a rising it in the pan for one hour). I baked it for 15 minutes, took it out, glazed it with a water and egg wash and gave it another five. It was wonderful for toast, sandwiches and just eating plain. Highly recommend this! (The yeast "sponge" is a must - let it sit until it looks like a pile of mousse!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
good and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States