Homemade Wonderful Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very tasty, easy, and cheap bread to make. I replaced the dry milk & 1 cup of water with 1 cup of real milk. I added an additional 1/2 cup of water per other's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I've made this recipe through the years and hands down it is our favorite white bread recipe. The bread comes out very soft, almost like the store bought white bread, but with a better flavor and texture. It has some "chew" to it rather than being gummy. I now use potato flour instead of mashed potato flakes and usually end up adding a bit more water than called for in the recipe. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Absolutely Excellent bread the whole family Loved. I usually make this every other night now because it's such a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5lilblessings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
A fine enough recipe but I don't see what people love so much. Maybe it's a difference in machines or personal preferences about bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I love this recipe! I was going to give my bread machine away because the few times I used it I didn't get very good results. I tried this recipe as my last chance effort. The results were, as the title sugests - "wonderful" ! Great flavor, texture, slices well. I just bought more yeast so I can continue baking in my bread machine - I wouldn't give it away for anything now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This bread was so soft and perfect! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
The recipe is my first attempt at baking bread and I love it! My family doesn't want "pillow bread" from the store anymore! I always exchange skim milk for dry milk. Doubling the amount and cutting the water needed by 1/4 cup. As far as the yeast, I use one packet and always proof it. It comes out FAB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Uxbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This bread was pretty good! I had to add an extra half cup water. I used my KitchenAid mixer to mix the dough, and wasn't sure how to let it rise since I don't have a bread machine. I opted to immediately separate the dough into two medium sized bread pans and let it rise in a warm oven for about an hour and a half, until the dough rose over the sides of the pan. The bread turned out pretty tasty, but the texture left some to be desired. It's good, but not very flexible. I like the flavor of the Country White Bread recipe better but will probably try making this recipe again with bread flour instead of normal flour to see if it makes a different in the bread's consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This really is wonderful! I liked the flavor that the potato flakes added. I used 1 cup of wheat flour and 3 of regular. Very nice and different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I love this recipe! I didn't proof the yeast first and it turned out fine. I used bread flour and bread machine yeast. I also added 4 tsp. vital wheat gluten. This bread is so soft on the inside and has a perfectly chewy/crunchy crust. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States