Homemade Wonderful Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I messed up and used the one cup of water at the beginning and didn't see to add more water at the end. It was a big mass and I thought it was ruined but I was able to save it and even with that mistake it still turned out good. I substituted honey for the sugar and the jury is still out whether that was a good idea. Overall a successful recipe and I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I make a lot of bread in the bread machine and this is my go to recipe. I substitute honey for the sugar and it lives up to its name .... wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I've made this recipe so many times I don't even have to look at it anymore. :) I do make changes which yield a 1 to 1 1/2 pound loaf in my small Hitachi breadmaker - I eliminate the proofing phase (and the water and sugar used for it), use all whole wheat flour and gluten instead of all-purpose, halve everything except the yeast and water, use 4T of honey instead of the sugar, butter instead of margarine, and bake it on 'Bread - Rapid' with 'light' crust. It comes out rounded and storebought in texture, which is what I was looking for and I usually just HAVE to have a piece right out of the maker (have to make sure it tastes right with butter, ya know! :D)! Sometimes I throw in ground flax, or poppy seeds, or substitute half a cup of another flour (like teff) depending on what I feel like eating for the next few days. This last time I substituted almond milk for the water and powdered milk and it came out just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Makes a HUGE loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dw373
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very yummy! I used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 all-purpose flour, and used butter instead of margarine. Also, I didn't used the bread machne: just went through 2 rise periods for the dough to double in size, and baked at 350 for about 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was an okay bread recipe for me. I like my bread to be fluffy and soft on the inside. This was a little dense for me and didnt have as much flavor as I expected with the ingredients that was in it. The bread was good, but Ive had better in my bread machine. Thanks for the recipe tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I don't have a bread machine, so I decided to make this using my Kitchen Aid. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and all of the warm water. (I cut back the sugar to two tablespoons, we don't like really sweet bread.) After I added the melted butter and the rest of the dry ingredients, the dough was really super dry. It refused to pull together. I ended up adding almost four more tablespoons of warm water before it would pull together into a ball. I kneaded it with my dough hook for about 5 minutes, then let it rise in the loaf pan on my warm stove for about an hour, covered with saran wrap and a towel. Smells great. I'll update on the taste when we eat it with dinner. EDITED: This didn't really work for me making it without a bread machine. The bread had a great taste, but it was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Didn't really like this bread... I didn't make it in a bread machine so that may have been part of the problem. it was very dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was my first time baking bread, but it turned out great. All my roommates loved it. I did add a little water to the recipe. I also do not have a bread machine so I used the oven, but it still turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was pretty good! It's pretty much just a basic bread though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States