Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I used this a couple of years ago to make Strawberry wine & then strawberry/passionfruit. Both got VERY good reviews from friends/family. Common sense should tell you not to drink it without 'decanting' it from the original container. I can't imagine anyone would drink it with the 'sludge' it creates! This time, I'm going to try Mulberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Lithia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Overall it works great.I found out why they say serve no wine before it's time.I put some in mason jars and nearly blew the lids off of them.I had waited the 6 weeks but evidently it wasn't enough.I have three gallons going now and two gallons jarred up.I jarred a concord grape which has a great kick to it and a strwberry medley that is really strong.The ones I have going are white grape/peach,another concord and an apple.It's been years since I've done this but I'm having a great time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
A very good recipe for homemade wine. You might want to try "Brewer's" yeast instead of regular bread yeast though, it'll make it a bit dryer but it wont have that "yeasty" flavor. I have to agree with Newyear 498 about siphoning off of the sediment into a clean jug, and wine is one of those things that gets better with age! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
We always used a condom instead of latex balloons. Yes, I said CONDOMS! Latex balloons have a powder which can leak into the wine. Secondly, I also waited for the balloon to go up then come down at which time I knew it was ready. Please do not poke holes in the balloon, condom or whatever, as you want to keep everything as sterile as possible in order not to introduce unwanted bacteria or end up with vinegar as a result. Finally, I would suggest a trip to the winemaker or beer maker store for the right kind of yeast would also be in order. Otherwise Happy Wine Making-from a former home wine maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is a good and easy reciepe just remember to strain the wine before you bottle or drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Judsonia, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
The first time I made this the wait time was longer than stated, I actually removed the balloon while still inflated because it had been acuple of months and was still inflated. However, after that, the wine maturd in a couple of weeks and was excellant! And packed a pretty good punch. I don't care for wine that makes you pucker, and this was very sweet and easy to sip. It didn't last long, as company also thought it was excellant wine. My only regret is that I didn't make more the first time. I am now starting my next batch and am making two galons instead of one and am tryng some new flavors (my first one was of sourse concord grape, now I am trying strawberry and white grape/raspberry). I like the fact that you use prepared juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe is so versatile. I made three batches, 1) White Grape Peach, 2) Passionfruit, 3)Apple....I made some changes to the recipe though. I placed the ingredients in wholesale bulk-sized pickle jars and covered them with 3 layers of saran wrap secured by a rubberband. I also used wine-grade yeast instead of all purpose yeast. Great Recipe for anyone. A+!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this using white grape raspberry, white grape peach, and grape. The grape raspberry and grape peach are really good (and strong!) but the grape is by far the best. I used 6 cups of sugar and the result is a very sweet wine, which is what we like. I used yeast made especially for wine and I boiled my water and sugar to make sure all the sugar dissolved. After 5 weeks I poured through coffee filters and transferred wine to another container for a couple of weeks before bottling. This is the perfect wine to use to make Sangria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
756 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe with grapes from my back yard that I juiced. In one gallon jug I added some juiced blackberries in another I just put grape juice and in another I did apple juice concentrate. The grapes are done and WOW are they strong my fiance and all of his friends love it and want me to make more. I was so happy that this turned out so well. I'm makeing more with different variations. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
There is a reason that wineries possess expensive, specialized equipment to produce their product: making good-tasting wine is a delicate process. Needless to say, this recipes covers the essentials of the process and produces a product that does indeed suggest wine. I must make one suggestion though, dissolve most of the sugar in boiled water. At the beginning of my experience with this recipe, most of the sugar fell to the bottom and did not react as well with the yeast as when I'd boiled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
653 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States