Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this using white grape raspberry, white grape peach, and grape. The grape raspberry and grape peach are really good (and strong!) but the grape is by far the best. I used 6 cups of sugar and the result is a very sweet wine, which is what we like. I used yeast made especially for wine and I boiled my water and sugar to make sure all the sugar dissolved. After 5 weeks I poured through coffee filters and transferred wine to another container for a couple of weeks before bottling. This is the perfect wine to use to make Sangria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
712 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe with grapes from my back yard that I juiced. In one gallon jug I added some juiced blackberries in another I just put grape juice and in another I did apple juice concentrate. The grapes are done and WOW are they strong my fiance and all of his friends love it and want me to make more. I was so happy that this turned out so well. I'm makeing more with different variations. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
There is a reason that wineries possess expensive, specialized equipment to produce their product: making good-tasting wine is a delicate process. Needless to say, this recipes covers the essentials of the process and produces a product that does indeed suggest wine. I must make one suggestion though, dissolve most of the sugar in boiled water. At the beginning of my experience with this recipe, most of the sugar fell to the bottom and did not react as well with the yeast as when I'd boiled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
631 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I've never made homemade wine before, but this recipe turned out to be really awesome. I plan on making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I found a recipe like this in a local newspaper...I cut the sugar back to 3 1/4 cups and my recipe is done in 21 days...I made it twice and it is really good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I've never made homemade wine before this. It was simple to make, I ended up using a plastic gallon jug. I didn't bottle it until 16 week's time was up due to lack of cork's & corker. I filtered the wine into the bottles using cheesecloth and a funnel. The first taste was similar to 19% Port wine but fruiter. I like the stronger wine so I will definitely make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This was a most exciting adventure. The wine seemed to be stronger when I used real fruit that I put through a juicer. It had a definite kick. Using the old glass gallon jugs seems to work better and give a "not so plastic" taste also. It was awesome. A wonderful New Year to come :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Although this recipe is a good one IT FAILS TO MENTION SOME VERY IMPORTANT FACTORS, which i find my be the reason to some of the reviews saying it taste horrible and such, the first thing the recipe fails to mention is that you have to poke holes into your ballon so that the carbondixocide being produced can excape yet keep air from getting in the second and most important is that the recipe ends on the note "then after 5 weeks or the ballon is not getting bigger anymore its ready to drink" WRONG!! well kinda.. it is ready to drink but with the exception it will be nasty like most reviews said.. see you need to ethier siphon the stuff out or filter it.. you dont want the dead yeast and suger on the bottom of the bottle that has settled or you will probly give it the bad review like others did.. all you want is the yeasts (aka alcohol) oh yeah alcohol is just yeast pee pee incase you didnt know hehe so enjoy ;) anyways do that and expect it to be GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1713 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe works very well. My wine aged in about 4 and a half weeks. This tastes just like storebought wine except with an added kick. Very recommended recipe. I kept mine stored in an armoire at room temperature and it turned out phenominal.. yes I'm drinking it right now! A+++!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My husband and I tried this as our fun little "Science project" It was kind of fun to watch it go through all the stages. We bought a huge jug and made a gigantic ammount-MISTAKE!! Well it made a great conversation piece. I never had Boone Farm or MD 20/20, but I would immagine the taste is similar. Not worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States