Homemade Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
A fairly easy recipe with pleasing results. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, this can be used in cooking recipes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Okay, I just made this for the first time. It aged for 5 weeks. It is really good, beautiful color, but a little cloudy. I am drinking some now, it is really strong. I'm from Louisiana where drinking starts young, and trust me, this stuff is strong! I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is a super easy way to get into home brewing. I have made beer for years and this was the first attempt at wine making. First things first you definatley want to pour the wine into a container and get rid of the gunk at the bottom. In addition I make 5 gallon batches, when im done i like to mix in another frozen mix to sweeten it up. I also add potassium sorbet to keep it from fermenting, which is available at any home brew store or home brew online store. Again this does not taste great but it does the job for me and my college friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabbore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Definitly probabyl to much sugar unless you like it SWEET SWEET!!!! And get rid of the jugs and ballons, i just use a gallon glass jugs with airlocks!!! You can pick up a cheap set on ebay!!! Its where i got mine and ive used it over and over to make this and similar wine recipes!!! You will even get two 1 Gallon Glass Jugs with your kit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
great recipe, this is my 4th batch. one thing i learned is to dissolve the yeast in a cup of warm water before adding to the mix. dissolving the sugar as one commented and doing the same with the yeast gives a more even mixture. i move my batch after 3 weeks to a second jug leaving the sediment on the bottom, then i leave that for another 3 weeks and bam!!!!!!!!!! thanks for the recipe. i call this last one 6 week hooch.. people cant believe it was made out of frozen concentrate. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huntr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I made this wine for the first time exactly as stated. It turned out alright, but was a bit too bitter. I found that the reason the taste was so off, was because there was no way for the gases to escape. I have made a few small changes, that made the wine phenomenal! First, dissolve the sugar in water before it is added to the jug, and I use 2 juice concentrates instead of one, it gives more flavour. before placing your balloon on, use a small needle or sewing pin to poke a few hole in the top of the balloon. This will let the gases out, but it wont let the air in. After your wine has fermented, use a funnel and some kind of strainer (I use nylon stocking, their about a dollar at most stores) and strain the wine into wine bottles, or another gallon jug. After that, the wine is done, and tastes great! For a richer flavor though, let it sit in it's new container for about a week longer, and the wine is PERFECT! Enjoy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyWithSoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I boiled the water and then added the sugar so it dissolved comepletely. I added the yeast to the liquid when it was still slightly warm, and it was ready to drink in about 9 days. All of the yeast settled to the bottom of the gallon jug, and the wine became clear. I used the Hodgson Mill yeast (8.75g). This stuff is strong, and it creeps up on you. Before I knew it, I had drank about on third of it because it tastes so good. I was very drunk and extremely hungover the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
DECENT RECIPE FOR BEGINNERS, BUT DONT GIVE UP SO EASILY! FIND A SHOP LOCALLY THAT SELLS BREWING SUPPLIES. DITCH THE BALLONS, RUBBER BANDS, PLASTIC JUGS AND BREAD YEAST. IT'LL COST @ FOUR BUCKS TO BUY A DRILLED RUBBER STOPPER, A PLASTIC AERATOR AND YEAST MADE SPECIFICALLY FOR WINE. SPEND ANOTHER FOUR BUCKS ON CAMPDEN TABLETS AND POTASSIUM SORBATE AND THEN MAKE YOUR WINE. KEEP IN MIND YOU'LL BASICALLY BE MAKING A LOW DOSE RUBBING ALCOHOL WITH A LITLLE FLAVOR. IF YOU EXPECT A $200 BOTTLE OF WINE BY SPENDING EIGHT BUCKS AND 20 MINUTES, YOU'LL HAVE MORE SUCCESS WATCHING BOB VILA ONCE AND OPENING YOUR OWN CABINET SHOP. DO A LITTLE RESEARCH, SPEND A FEW BUCKS, BE PATIENT, EXPERIMENT IN SMALL BATCHES, DRINK YOUR RESULTS AND MODIFY. WRITE EVERY SINGLE DETAIL IN A NOTEBOOK, KEEP TRACK OF YOUR STEPS AND YOUR WINE WILL IMPROVE WITH EVERY BATCH. PATIENCE AND SANITATION ARE A MUST. IF YOU PICK UP A PAINTBRUSH FOR THE FIRST TIME AND EXPECT THE MONA LISA, FIND ANOTHER HOBBY. RESEARCH, TIME AND PATIENCE WILL BE REWARDED. GOOD LUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Try Apple/Raspberry concentrate! Very good recipe...tasty, simple and FUN! Not for Wine-snobs, but who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, took 4 weeks. I boiled the water, added sugar for simple syrup. I have not tasted it yet, but it smells very good (and very strong). I'd like to cut the alcohol content a bit. I strained manually through my coffee pot 3 times, each time using 2 brown paper filters. Would love to use this in the homemade wine cooler recipe that I found on this site! I started some apple last night.. Can't wait to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

How to Chill Wine Fast

See how to chill a warm bottle of white wine in just minutes.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States